Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Worst/most costly mistake?

Just curious, what has been the worst or most costly mistake you've ever made on the job?

My dad once told me a story that a buddy of his was working on a furnace at a trailer house, and after he left he got a call on the radio that the trailer had burned down as soon as he left due to a gas leak igniting...

I'm an apprentice, and a couple months ago I was replacing a compressor for a walk in cooler (by myself) and I had forgotten to take out the rubber plug inside the suction stub on the compressor. We got a no cool call a couple weeks later on that walk in, come to find out it obviously ruined the compressor. It was about a thousand dollar compressor- luckily it was covered under warranty lol. I'm surprised it lasted that long!

So any good stories of bad mistakes made on the job?

i have seen the plug left in... all the plugs i have seen are sealed how did it ever run?

we all make mistakes but you have to learn from them..

Oh boy did i learn from it haha.. never made that mistake again. For some reason it looked fine on start up, but when we condemned the compressor and saw the plug still in the suction stub it was pretty torn up.

In recent memory, I almost caused the complete destruction of a 60 ton Trane Recip. compressor.