Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Aurora, IL.
    Posts
    29

    Question Evap Coil Cleaning

    Hi all,

    I am planning on getting my ac coil cleaned. The thing is the coil is inside the supply duct and it (the duct) sits in a 3" tall sleeve attached to the top of the furnace. It just dawned on me, how the heck will the hvac co. get access to it? Will the ductwork need to be cut open or worse, redone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    greenville , sc
    Posts
    718
    as long as you hire a reputable contractor and a competent tech shows up youll be fine ........... there are numerous ways to properly clean a coil and a pro should be more than capable . so dont sweat it .
    catch a man a fish , feed him for a day.
    teach a man to fish , ruin a good business opportunity.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,062
    A lot of new construction homes use uncased coils and install them without access. an access door can be added. I am not sure what the 3 inch sleave is. Maybee you can post a picture

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    19,522
    I'll bet he meant to place a ' and not an ".

    He means a 3 foot sheet metal enclosure for the coil.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    230
    Post a pic!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,062
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    I'll bet he meant to place a ' and not an ".

    He means a 3 foot sheet metal enclosure for the coil.
    good read. That makes sense.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Aurora, IL.
    Posts
    29
    Sorry for the confusion. Couldnt figure out what to call the piece where the duct and furnace meet. Here's the picture so you can tell what I was talking about. BTW, how hard would it be to turn the furnace 180 degrees? Is it worth the hassle or wat til it needs replacing? I'd like to finish my basement and it faces into the room. Turning it around would allow me to build a furnace closet and gain more open space and still have access to it for servicing.

    Thanks for the guidance.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by metfan; 09-21-2011 at 10:27 PM. Reason: Additional question

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,312
    You can still access the coil by pulling the plenum apart.

    Pretty easy to do. If I can install it like that, surely a service tech can take it apart .
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,062
    Turning the unit 180 looks feasible. Do not forget to allow at least 30" in front of the unit for service.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Aurora, IL.
    Posts
    29
    Ok thanks for the good news. Now does the coil need turning around or can it stay as is? Just trying to figure out if the refrigerant needs to be removed and reinstalled so I can budget for it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event