Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milford, MI
    Posts
    7

    Boiler sooting up are we dying from CO

    I'm new to the forum and could use your help. I have a 5 year old (to the day) Slant Fin boiler (model se70dp). Our old boiler was at least 45 years old. When they replaced it was in bad condition. Service man stated Flu pipe rotting out, leaking at eliminator and relief vavle. Due to safety issues he recommended replacement. We agreed.

    New boiler installed everything was working for first two years then roll out switched tripped. Service tech says roll out switch open, boiler sooted up, needs mat (?). He quoted us a crazy high price to clean the sooted boiler. We ended up having a different company clean and replace switch. All was well for two years. Now I have been working in my basement on a project and I had to move the boiler. When I took the hood off I see it is completely full of soot and rust again.

    Any suggestions or help please. If the roll out switch goes bad does this mean we are getting CO2 in the house?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    1,145
    Do not take any chances. No one can tell you from here whether or not CO is leaking into your home. Call out a pro and have it tested. I would also recommend that the pro also check that your boiler is getting a proper supply of combustion air, proper combustion analysis done. Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    517
    Sounds like something may not be burning correctly. Get a company to do a combustion analysis on it to find out why it soots up so fast. Tripping roll out switches is not to be taken lightly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Edna Bay, Alaska Highest concentration of black bears in the US
    Posts
    623
    Can you say, Yearly Maintenance?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    381
    sooting is usually caused by lack of combustion air, or dirty burners which means that yes it is more than likely spilling Co. You really need to call a pro NOW.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milford, MI
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Guys. How about instalation issues? Combustable air mix, is this install related? Why did the original chimmey flu pipe rot out? Could this be venting up my chimmey properly? I have it going into my brick chimmey on the outside of the house. I looked down it from the top and it doesn't seem to be plugged.

    I know you said yearly maintenance and I agree, but every two years a complete rebuild doesn't seem right.

    John

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St Paul, minnesota
    Posts
    1,163
    do you have a combustion air duct installed and do you have a flue cap installed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milford, MI
    Posts
    7
    Lost me. I have a mushroom cap about two foot off the top of the boiler and a cap on the top of my chimney.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St Paul, minnesota
    Posts
    1,163
    a combustion air duct is a duct coming from outside and will terminate somewhere near your boiler. a boiler will soot up with a lack of air.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,874
    Are you using nat gas or LP.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milford, MI
    Posts
    7
    natural gas.

    Not sure on the combustion air duct? I will look. It is in a low height basement with a outside vented window that I leave open.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260
    Call the co that installed it and ask if they can do a combustion analysis, if not then find a co that can. How big is the flue in the chimney, and is there anything else sharing the chimney? Did you make the home super tight recently, new windows, doors and so on. The boiler needs the proper amount of combustion air, the right gas pressure and volume, the right flow rate, system pressure, and the right temperature return water. Any one of these things could cause soot.

    In short you need a service man that knows boilers. You could try our contractor locate map..
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,874
    Time you had someone out that knows how to set it up right. After its cleaned, it needs to be set up with a combustion analyzer. Just eye balling the flames doesn't tell anyone anything about how well it is or isn't burning.

    The lower priced company you had out, apparently didn't know how to est it up. You need a company that knows what they are dong, and has the proper tools to set it up.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event