Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Thermostats

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    276

    Hmm Thermostats

    Looking for a thermostat like the Carrier Edge two peace, have 5 wires and adding a heat pump on an air handler. The old air handler is straight air and I would like to add a heat pump instead but only have 5 wires and no way to run knew wire.



    Any help thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ripley, WV
    Posts
    1,156
    There is a lot of variables that make it very difficult to give you much help on this topic in an open forum. If you are in the HVAC trade apply for your pro status and we may be able to do a little more indepth help. I have an Idea what to do but won't put it out in the open forum. If you are Homeowner and getting a contractor to do this install they should be able to run the wires you need. Again if you are an hvac pro then get your butt to pro status.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    44
    look at a honeywell iaq

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    28
    google this "THP9045 Wiring Module" and find the appropriate t-stat

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Eastern Shore, MD
    Posts
    798
    they make multi function wireless stats.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    200
    heat pumps only need 4 wires to operate; 24v hot, fan, comp cont, and rev valve
    If you don't know... ASK!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    200
    honeywell pro3000 to vision pro 8000 will work
    If you don't know... ASK!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ripley, WV
    Posts
    1,156
    What will give the 24 volt signal for the aux/em heat to come on with only 4 wires? you need R,W,Y,G,O/B as a minimum

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    200
    no one mentioned aux heat only that it was a heatpump system....
    If you don't know... ASK!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    200
    but if you want to get into it... you could install an outdoor tstat at the equipment so at a predetermined temp you send a call for aux heat to kick in only when it is at or below the equipment balance point...
    If you don't know... ASK!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event