Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758

    commercial flat rate

    heard from a guy i know that his co does flat rate for commercial services. anyone here doing flat rate for the co work at and what size/kind of equipment you work on ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    central Alabama
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by HvAckid82 View Post
    heard from a guy i know that his co does flat rate for commercial services. anyone here doing flat rate for the co work at and what size/kind of equipment you work on ?
    My employer developed a flat rate guide a few years ago, but for residential work (of which we do very little.) They will use it on occasion if commercial customer has residential type equipment for quoting repair prices if customer insists on price up front.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Down by the river
    Posts
    1,578
    Res and light comm it works fine. You get into 25ton and bigger DX and RTU's or chiller work it's hard to come up with flat rates. Think of how thick that book would be. 1.5 ton through 3000 ton centravac, with a million repairs ea.
    It's hard to stop a Trane. but I have made one helluva living keeping them going.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    7,314
    I would love to see how you could pull that off. Heck, I cant even flat rate our labor. different clients need to be structured different ways to appease them. some clients want breakouts on labor, vehicle and parts charges, others guaranteed list minus percent on parts, and so on. The internet developed monsters with regard to how you need to handle certain people to make money.

    The nice thing is any billable hours are what they are, no downtime like residential. Most residential flat raters use a high labor rate to cover downtime, and carry a strict inventory on vehicles. you just cannot do that in commercial, especially these days. Example...it used to be commonplace to carry say a 75 va multitap transformer or six, and some relays. you could get almost anything running. nowadays, if you install a contactor with a different ohm value than a factory direct replacement, the unit goes nutso on certain brands. now, try to even find a decent multitap transformer, let alone carry even a selction of boards. every godamn generation is different even in one brand. maybe, just maybe if you worked on say....only yorkies between twenty and one hundred tons, air cooled with recips you could get a good read, but who the hell does that? not even the york guys.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    758
    I was thinking the same way but this deals with the smaller stuff up to 20tons or so. But I hear from time to time they can get involved with larger equipment. When I see this guy I want to check out what it can do.
    It sounds great if you do resi/light commercial work, this would drastically reduce office overhead and speed up payments

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, Ny
    Posts
    631
    Quote Originally Posted by flange View Post
    different ohm value than a factory direct replacement, the unit goes nutso on certain brands. now, try to even find a decent multitap transformer, let alone carry even a selction of boards. every godamn generation is different even in one brand.
    How many FRNQ 3-2/10 amp fuses do you carry?
    Happiness is the only good. The time to be happy is now. The place to be happy is here. The way to be happy is to make others so.
    -Robert Green Ingersoll

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event