Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Confused rooftop workload

Got a question for everyone in commercial hvac. I have been a heating and a/c tech about 10 years now but in central NH it is mostly heat. Last year I started working again factory on the hvac equipment. We have 85 rooftops ranging from 7 to 40 tons, 3 chillers,35,180&200 tons. Does this seem like a lot of equipment for just one guy to take care of? I slip farther behind every day. Many of these units are 20-25 years old! Any insight on this would be a great help.

Are all the equipment at the same location? I take care of bunch of equipment, one building alone has several hundred hydronic heat pumps. I always find new projects usually take a long time at first. Finding all the stuff that's broke and hasn't been maintained in years and getting it up to par seems like it takes forever. Ive had times where i felt like i was not making any headway. Soon you will have everything running as it should and you will be ahead of the game. You will find yourself waiting for something to break as I do in some of the buildings i take care of.

I think Hotrodrob is real accurate.

What I would say is make a list of the worst breakdown units and worst condition and start replacing them slowly or as quickly as really necessary. They have met their life expectancy already. I worked in a factory where we had hundreds of pieces of equipment in all shapes and sizes, it took about a year to stop putting out fires. The units had been neglected for a long while and the previous guy was being pulled too many different directions and he couldn't keep afloat. When I can on they hired a second guy for me so we could get a grip on things.

Good luck and change out those clunkers!