Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 23
  1. #1
    I have a medical condition that cannot tolerate cold and am desperate.

    We have just moved into our new home. Something is wrong with the heat pump and I cannot get the service/warranty people out here till Monday.

    When the thermostat is set for heat there is air blowing, but it is not hot. It takes about 2 hours to go up one degree. The outside unit meanwhile (It is a Bryant system) is running about 30 seconds, tuns off, then starts again - this is continuous when the heat is turned on. It did appear prior to close whenever we were in the house that the cooling part of this heat pump was functioning, but maybe it just wasn't that hot.

    Does anyone recognize this problem as being something caused by a simple/stupid glitch somewhere we can possibly do something about today? We have checked the filter to make sure it's not clogged by contruction debris so far, it is clean.




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Location: Tulsa Oklahoma
    Posts
    222
    I would look in the phone book for a service company that works on the weekend and pay them to come check out your problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    if you have auxilliary heat, turn the thermostat switch to emergency heat until the service co. can get there. do not keep running the outdoor unit in this condition.

    good luck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,768
    Switch the stat to EMG, and wait for the installing contractor.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    288

    Switch your thermostat to "EM heat" Aux heat or Supl heat....do not allow the outdoor unit to run in this condition....get a weekend svc company or wait until monday

  6. #6
    Wow - thanks for all the responses! So, there seems to be a consensus here, but I have always been confused about this Emergency Heat setting.

    Apparently the Emergency Heat setting does not involve the outdoor unit at all? Am I getting that right? Is this the same thing as Auxillary Heat or not?

    Okay - I have made the switch, but so far it seems the system is not kicking in at all on this setting.

    By the way - this setting is gonna cost me a fortune on the electric end isn't it? Might as well pay someone to get out here anyway - still trying to find someone.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,768
    May have multiple wiring issues.

    Yes it will run up the electric for the day if the strips are working.

    If you use a different contractor then the installer, you could run in to trouble down the road if some thing else goes wrong.

    It could end up in a P match between the 2 contractors blaming each other.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Yo.... Here!, I'm right here..
    Posts
    6,236
    I'll second beenthere's response
    and it won't cost all that much to run the backup heat for one day,

    builders contractors sometimes don't do or aren't very good at service

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,248
    Originally posted by relentless


    Okay - I have made the switch, but so far it seems the system is not kicking in at all on this setting.

    By the way - this setting is gonna cost me a fortune on the electric end isn't it? Might as well pay someone to get out here anyway - still trying to find someone.
    Did you make sure the stat was also set in the heat mode with the emg. heat switch on?

    It is better to have to pay a little cash out for electric for one day than to freeze.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

  10. #10
    Oh, good point beenthere - thanks for reminding me. I don't want to end up voiding the warranty if the unit needs replacement - yikes.

    Okay, I have also turned on the fan since it wasn't kicking in on EHEAT setting hoping to get the air flowing. Any problem with that?

  11. #11
    Originally posted by davidr

    Did you make sure the stat was also set in the heat mode with the emg. heat switch on?

    It is better to have to pay a little cash out for electric for one day than to freeze. [/B]
    Agreed about the money - but the stat is how you turn it to emg heat. Is there something somewhere else I need to flip?

  12. #12
    Originally posted by beenthere
    May have multiple wiring issues.

    Yes it will run up the electric for the day if the strips are working.

    If you use a different contractor then the installer, you could run in to trouble down the road if some thing else goes wrong.

    It could end up in a P match between the 2 contractors blaming each other.
    how many people here install units and then tell homeowner "i'll see ya Monday "if they have problem, i would call contractor number 2 any how.They should service what they sell on 24 hour call at least explain to customer how to set emergency heat.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,248
    Originally posted by relentless


    Agreed about the money - but the stat is how you turn it to emg heat. Is there something somewhere else I need to flip?
    Just make sure it is set to heat in addition to emg.heat.
    I just had this same issue with a customer last week.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event