Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Water condensing and dripping?

Hello, I am new to the forum. I am a student at Wichita Area Technical College, and I am en route to obtain my AAS in HVACR. I just started my refrigeration classes and I am beginning to learn some of the lingo.

Anyways, I have a question regarding my home AC system.

I have a Goodman condensing unit, and a Trane furnace. I was outside the other day and I noticed the line running from my condensing unit to my furnace/ evaporator has water condensing on it. The water is seeping through the thick insulation on the line and there is some dripping near the furnace and some dripping outside by the condensing unit. My question is, is this normal, should I be concerned? What does this tell me?

Thanks!

it would be normal for water to condense on the cold lines coming back from the evaporator. That's the main reason it's insulated. Ideally, the insulation should be sealing the moist air out - that appears to not be the case. There will pretty much always be some condensation going on on the short exposed sections of tubing near the valves though.

Welcome hvacClayton.
    This is a good time to research the concept of Dew Point on the internet. This is a very important concept to understand.
    "I have never let my schooling interfere with my education."
    Mark Twain
    More at: http://www.quotationspage.com/subjects/education/

If it is the "suction" line (i.e. the "fat" line) that is condensing, that is normal. The insulation is supposed to prevent that, but with age and sun damage the insulation often does not perform its intended job. I would not worry about it too much, but you can secure or replace the insulation if you like to get that extra .0005% of efficiency out of the system.
    It's not rocket-science...

It's electromechanical thermodynamic engineering

Thank you so much for the quick and comprehensive replies!