Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 76
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by blazey10 View Post
    Who was the contractor?
    AirCo

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    237
    OH! I am always around if you ever need any help.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by mcjo tech View Post
    Looks like a 14 Seer 410A system. Not much electrical components on that system. Pretty basic.
    When I bought it and signed the contract the sales guy said it was getting a 4 ton, 15 seer system...

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,264
    Quote Originally Posted by phatmass View Post
    When I bought it and signed the contract the sales guy said it was getting a 4 ton, 15 seer system...
    I don't want to cause waves here. I really couldn't see the markings all that well in the picture so not sure what it is.

    However, with the correct furnace or air handler it very well could be rated at 15 SEER.

    Just a quick question: Does it do this all the time or more in the morning or when it is cooler outside?

    Whatever is causing it needs to be looked at right away but it is some type of safety on the condenser that is turning it off to protect itself since it is disengaging the contactor.

    Good luck. You can find a very good local contractor here that will fix it right up for you.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    19
    OK, just to wrap this up...

    The AirCo guy came out on Monday afternoon and couldn't reproduce the problem. While he was here, he disconnected some wires on the outside unit, hooked up some kind of tester thingy, talked a lot of Spanish on his cell phone to somebody, and then told me he couldn't find any problems. He said he suspected it might be an electrical component, but he wasn't sure so didn't replace anything. Even though I showed him the video of exactly what it was doing, he said that he couldn't really do anything unless he could get it to do the same thing while he was here. Told me to call back if it did it again...

    Here's the weird thing. It hasn't done it again. haha

    It was doing it literally every day before he came out, but since Monday when he was here, it hasn't done it again--even though he told me he didn't do anything.

    So, I don't know. I guess I'm happy it's fixed! Just wish I knew what was wrong with it in the first place. Thanks for all the replies y'all! It's been very helpful.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,328
    He could call into shop or another tech. in Spanish, but not find any problem that he could tell you about and now it works fine? Guess you gotta learn Spanish, maybe that's what they mean when they say "runs like a train". Train yourself to speak Spanish....Glad you got it fixed and I'll also bet it was something simple as mentioned on earlier posts!!

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,031
    Quote Originally Posted by ryan1088 View Post
    Not good. Sounds like you are short cycling on a safety. I'm not real familiar with the Trane residential line but you certainly have a problem. You might be flirting with compressor damage if you keep it up until Monday.....

    Let's get you working on your (*). That way you will be a part of the plan for the AOP section.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  8. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,031
    Quote Originally Posted by phatmass View Post
    OK, just to wrap this up...

    The AirCo guy came out on Monday afternoon and couldn't reproduce the problem. While he was here, he disconnected some wires on the outside unit, hooked up some kind of tester thingy, talked a lot of Spanish on his cell phone to somebody, and then told me he couldn't find any problems. He said he suspected it might be an electrical component, but he wasn't sure so didn't replace anything. Even though I showed him the video of exactly what it was doing, he said that he couldn't really do anything unless he could get it to do the same thing while he was here. Told me to call back if it did it again...

    Here's the weird thing. It hasn't done it again. haha

    It was doing it literally every day before he came out, but since Monday when he was here, it hasn't done it again--even though he told me he didn't do anything.

    So, I don't know. I guess I'm happy it's fixed! Just wish I knew what was wrong with it in the first place. Thanks for all the replies y'all! It's been very helpful.
    I would call the service manager and ASK.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,264
    Quote Originally Posted by phatmass View Post
    OK, just to wrap this up...

    The AirCo guy came out on Monday afternoon and couldn't reproduce the problem. While he was here, he disconnected some wires on the outside unit, hooked up some kind of tester thingy, talked a lot of Spanish on his cell phone to somebody, and then told me he couldn't find any problems. He said he suspected it might be an electrical component, but he wasn't sure so didn't replace anything. Even though I showed him the video of exactly what it was doing, he said that he couldn't really do anything unless he could get it to do the same thing while he was here. Told me to call back if it did it again...

    Here's the weird thing. It hasn't done it again. haha

    It was doing it literally every day before he came out, but since Monday when he was here, it hasn't done it again--even though he told me he didn't do anything.

    So, I don't know. I guess I'm happy it's fixed! Just wish I knew what was wrong with it in the first place. Thanks for all the replies y'all! It's been very helpful.
    Its always GOOD when your technician knows how to hook up a TESTER THINGY but can't explain what he is testing.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    19
    Well, my AC started having the same problem again . I called and they were suppose to come out again on Tuesday, but no-showed. I went out of town, and now they are suppose to come out tonight to check it again. The lady on the phone told me it would be $179 if the problem relates to "maintenance" and would only be covered by my warranty if the problem does not have anything to do with maintenance. I don't even know what that means since it's a brand new unit they installed this summer. The air filter is suppose to last for a year (so they told me) and I don't know how to check if the drain line is clogged--I thought that's what they have one of those drain line clog-checker thingies on there for (which they replaced already because the electric one they use to have on there kept making me have to reset it).

    So, if they come out again and tell me they couldn't find the problem again and tell me to call back when it happens again, what am I suppose to do? How long do they have to keep coming back every time I call before they actually fix anything?

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,998
    There are a lot of professional members without (*) AOP status posting on this thread.

    To those who are, please apply for it by following the link in my signature line.

    Phatmass,

    Please do not post pricing, nor do I think you should be posting the name of your contractor publicly.

    If you cannot get satisfaction out of your current contractor, try looking at the map in my signature. There are a lot of highly qualified HVAC contractors on this forum who can and will fix your problem.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    578
    as mentioned already i agree its shutting down on high pressure fault. it can easily be an overcharged system, but also i seen this issue with the 16 seer r410a goodman units. The txv is getting stuck closed and after cycling a few times it will pop open, and start running smooth. just mt 1 cents

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    19
    Sorry for posting the company and price. If the mods want to delete it go ahead. Somebody asked what company it was, so I assumed it was ok.

    Good news, the service guy just left, and this one "pulled some freon."

    He said that he thinks it's a high pressure switch. When he checked the pressure as the unit was running through a cycle he said it got up to 379 psi. He said the switch is set to 400 psi, so he thinks that when the system was running a lot over the last few weeks during the 100 degree days, it might have gotten up to 400 psi and was tripping the switch. He said he took it down to around 325 psi to give it a little more room, so it wouldn't hit that 400 psi limit.

    So, I feel good since a few of you already said this. Thanks for all the feedback! It's awesome to have such a great online community like this.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event