Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 22
  1. #1

    Frown Hello, John is the name here

    Few weeks ago I had a new rheem dual fuel hvac unit put in my house, replacing an old 25 pulse gas Lenox unit. Old gas unit was rated at 60,000 btu, for some reason I'm wondering if they over sized my new gas unit. this units seems very hot to me an not as comfortable as the old unit. It's a 2 stage heat unit model RGFE10EZCMS, how do I tell the btu's on this unit, an how do you tell which stage of heat it's in, low are high stage. tks Also it took 5 visit to my house to get it working, well known company out of Nashville TN

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,947

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,046
    Quote Originally Posted by youtalktomuch View Post
    Few weeks ago I had a new rheem dual fuel hvac unit put in my house, replacing an old 25 pulse gas Lenox unit. Old gas unit was rated at 60,000 btu, for some reason I'm wondering if they over sized my new gas unit. this units seems very hot to me an not as comfortable as the old unit. It's a 2 stage heat unit model RGFE10EZCMS, how do I tell the btu's on this unit, an how do you tell which stage of heat it's in, low are high stage. tks Also it took 5 visit to my house to get it working, well known company out of Nashville TN
    105K BTU What T stat do you have controlling it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SW Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,467
    Wow; that upsizing makes no sense...

    Well, 60,000-Btuh might have been somewhat oversized for a 97.5%, 14F winter design in Nashville TN.
    Why would anyone go up to 105,000!

    Why don't you do a Free whole house load-calc to see what size might be appropriate; also shows cooling load-calc.
    http://www.loadcalc.net/

  5. #5
    honeywell 8000

  6. #6
    Sorry for the slow respond, few medical problems. Ok, 25 year old house, 1,600 downstairs 950 upstairs, up stairs has amana heat pump, well plesaed with the unit. House has 6 inch putside walls, new therma windows. No north side windows, 9 windows downstairs 7 windows upstairs, well insulated house. Old 60,000 unit did a great job in heating, so I think a 100,000 is unreal, even on low 60,000. Wish I had known sooner the size they where going to install. In away I think they have no clue.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,774
    100,000 for a 1600 sq ft first floor is just crazy.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    God's country - Shenandoah Valley, VA
    Posts
    339
    That's 65 btu's pr sq ft. That's probably 2 1/2 times what you need. Maybe more. 40k would have been enough. It's gonna short cycle, be uncomfortable and die an early death.

    I'd make them take it out and put the correct size in. No excuse for that kind of negligence.
    Bob Boan


    ​You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,512
    Call them back to replace it with the correct size
    We really need change now

  10. #10
    Guy called me today checking on the new unit, but I was out for a few, called him back so he is out, just waiting on a return call, An I'm sure they won't agree to correct the problem. If they don't I wonder getting a lawyer to write a letter to them will help since it was their fault in the install. Also bought the unit through home depol interest free for one yr. I guess they sub the sale out to this company in Nashville. Home Depol also contacted me with a survey which I told the lady it was all bad, installers where friendly , stayed busy, but I guess they where given wrong size to install. I guess I need to call home depol back an see what they can are will do are won't do.

  11. #11
    I have email Rheem to make sure about the btu output of this unit to be really sure about the btu output, no one responds, is there a number I can call to speak to a rep. I"m very happy with the heat pump side of the unit, air feels very good. All is not bad.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,046
    Quote Originally Posted by youtalktomuch View Post
    I have email Rheem to make sure about the btu output of this unit to be really sure about the btu output, no one responds, is there a number I can call to speak to a rep. I"m very happy with the heat pump side of the unit, air feels very good. All is not bad.
    RGFE10EZCMS,

    equals 105,000 BTU

  13. #13
    Came out as I expected, will not change out. Guy said they called rheem an where told this does match out with the rest of the system. Ask him if rheem was told size of house an they didn't. Guy tells me he can cut 2 burners off to lower btu, is this possible an safe?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event