Furnace wont come on at all
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1
    This morning we lost power. The electric co was able to restore power and everything works fine except the furnace. We have a Heil model ntc-6100 gfg1. we have tried all the switches and obvious but the fan will not come on nor the burner will not light.

    Is there a reset button or something? I checked the thermostat too to no avail.

    We are in MI and it is getting pretty cold in here 52!

    Any and all help/suggestions would be much appreciated.

    Thank you -jen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    No reset.

    Be sure you are getting power to the furnace.
    Be sure the doors are in place.
    If it still won't run, call for service.

    It won't take a technician long to find the problem, and delaying the call will not heat your house.

    Good luck.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,597
    As bwal2 said, call a tech.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,778
    Where in MI? If your around metro detroit shoot me an email. Its in my credentials.

    [Edited by coolwhip on 12-01-2005 at 05:28 PM]
    "Politicians are the lowest form of life on Earth. Liberal Democrats are the lowest form of politician"

    - General George S. Patton

  5. #5
    Shut the unit off, wait for an hour, turn unit back on.

    If this doesn't fix it, call for service.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,024
    Originally posted by jultzya
    Shut the unit off, wait for an hour, turn unit back on.

    If this doesn't fix it, call for service.
    Wait an hour? I'd wait a couple of minutes. Why an hour?

    Check your breakers. Then call the service company.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  7. #7

    Check this

    Depending on your unit there may be an in line fuse inside the furance that smoked when the power was interupted. If your can turn your breaker off to the furance open it up and look sometimes it will look just like a 3 amp car fuse,check that. Then if there is no fuse your transformer may have burned up. You will smell it if it did.

  8. #8
    Originally posted by lynn rodenmayer
    Originally posted by jultzya
    Shut the unit off, wait for an hour, turn unit back on.
    Wait an hour? I'd wait a couple of minutes. Why an hour?
    He said no blower or burner... nothing about the inducer not running. So, if the unit was operating at the time the power went off...

    The aux limit on the blower (tripped due to high temp shut off) which is wired in series with the pressure switch, will keep the unit from firing... which doesn't signal the EFT to energize the blower.

    Leaving the unit set, will allow for the 'auto-reset' limit to close and then the unit will operate normally.

    Another way to speed this process is to turn the blower to the 'on' position, which will cool the sensor quicker. But could lead to a 'constant' blower problem, cause the homeowner 'forgets' to switch the fan setting back to auto.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,024
    But the power went off in the morning and it was after 4 when the OP posted.


    Well Jen how did you come out?
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event