Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 46

Thread: RTAA screaming

  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    880
    Jayguy- What I'm saying, as you well know with all your vast Trane experience is the oil pressure differential switch, which has its high pressure cap tube tied to the oil pressure on the the main oil line entering the oil filter and the second cap tube past the 4L1 main oil solenoid. You can put your version of it however you want. If the pressure drop between those 2 points exceeds 50 psid the switch shuts down the compressor. This is also known for occurring when the condenser coils are dirty or the condenser fan(s) have failed causing a rise discharge pressure and a higher then normal pressure drop through the oil filter and 4L1 main oil solenoid. The switch itself is tested each time the compressor is in normal shutdown mode as the compressor has a set amount of time to activate that switch or it will go into a manual reset only fault. You can read whatever you wish or interpret from my post. -GEO
    Once in a while everything falls into place and I am able to move forward, most of the time it just falls all over the place and I can't go anywhere-GEO

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    1,430
    Quote Originally Posted by ga1279 View Post
    Jayguy- What I'm saying, as you well know with all your vast Trane experience is the oil pressure differential switch, which has its high pressure cap tube tied to the oil pressure on the the main oil line entering the oil filter and the second cap tube past the 4L1 main oil solenoid. You can put your version of it however you want. If the pressure drop between those 2 points exceeds 50 psid the switch shuts down the compressor. This is also known for occurring when the condenser coils are dirty or the condenser fan(s) have failed causing a rise discharge pressure and a higher then normal pressure drop through the oil filter and 4L1 main oil solenoid. The switch itself is tested each time the compressor is in normal shutdown mode as the compressor has a set amount of time to activate that switch or it will go into a manual reset only fault. You can read whatever you wish or interpret from my post. -GEO
    You are revealing super=secret Trane info! STOP now or risk yourself to wake up next to a bloody horse head
    you are also upsetting drama queen!

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,523
    Quote Originally Posted by ga1279 View Post
    Jayguy- What I'm saying, as you well know with all your vast Trane experience is the oil pressure differential switch, which has its high pressure cap tube tied to the oil pressure on the the main oil line entering the oil filter and the second cap tube past the 4L1 main oil solenoid. You can put your version of it however you want. If the pressure drop between those 2 points exceeds 50 psid the switch shuts down the compressor. This is also known for occurring when the condenser coils are dirty or the condenser fan(s) have failed causing a rise discharge pressure and a higher then normal pressure drop through the oil filter and 4L1 main oil solenoid. The switch itself is tested each time the compressor is in normal shutdown mode as the compressor has a set amount of time to activate that switch or it will go into a manual reset only fault. You can read whatever you wish or interpret from my post. -GEO
    I didn't think that you were saying discharge and suction had nothing to do with the oil pressure...just wanted to make sure. My reading of your post was fuzzy.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    743
    I have an rtwa giving me the information diagnostic for overload settings on circuit b. I work on quite a few of these and am certain the configuration and dip switch settings are correct. Also we have two of these chillers on this site and the settings are identical. I tested the dip switch soldier points and it is working correctly. If I go ahead and set the the safest setting, decimal to 0 and the switch to 00000 then diagnostic clears.

    Anyway long story short, yall hinted there may be a secret menu other than configuration screen. Could you tell me what might be up with this thing?

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,368
    Quote Originally Posted by Sicofthis View Post
    I have an rtwa giving me the information diagnostic for overload settings on circuit b. I work on quite a few of these and am certain the configuration and dip switch settings are correct. Also we have two of these chillers on this site and the settings are identical. I tested the dip switch soldier points and it is working correctly. If I go ahead and set the the safest setting, decimal to 0 and the switch to 00000 then diagnostic clears.

    Anyway long story short, yall hinted there may be a secret menu other than configuration screen. Could you tell me what might be up with this thing?
    The configuration menu is the "secret" menu.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    I have an RTAC where the site security placed a callout on a saturday for the excessive noise from the chiller compound. On attending I found one of the compressors quite 'happily' running with absolutely no oil ( I have retro-fitted oil level sightglasses to the seperators). I know where the oil went, it was a b******d to clean off the floor !! It escaped from the roto-loc connection to the filter body, but the refrigerant didn't follow it ???

    Perhaps one of you more experienced Trane guys can tell me how the controls are supposed to recognise the difference between oil and discharge pressure once the oil left the system ?

    I am not holding out much hope for this compressor once it has been repaired, I have no idea how long it was running with no oil !!

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,368
    Quote Originally Posted by ajayl View Post
    I have an RTAC where the site security placed a callout on a saturday for the excessive noise from the chiller compound. On attending I found one of the compressors quite 'happily' running with absolutely no oil ( I have retro-fitted oil level sightglasses to the seperators). I know where the oil went, it was a b******d to clean off the floor !! It escaped from the roto-loc connection to the filter body, but the refrigerant didn't follow it ???

    Perhaps one of you more experienced Trane guys can tell me how the controls are supposed to recognise the difference between oil and discharge pressure once the oil left the system ?

    I am not holding out much hope for this compressor once it has been repaired, I have no idea how long it was running with no oil !!
    The controls don't know the difference between oil and refrigerant pressure.

    You can hold out hope as those compressors are tough. The screaming noise was more than likely coming from the dry oil seperator baffles vibrating.

    I've seen more than one of these machines running as you described but it wasn't from the oil leaking out, it was from all the oil being in the evaporator due to a restricted oil scavenger line.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    502 KY
    Posts
    1
    Hello, I am new here on the forum and I know im jumping in a lil late but I have the same issue on a RTAA125, However R123 says a restricted oil scavenger line? Whats the remedy for that? Clearing , Replacing? Could Low or excessive moisture in the oil cause this symptom? The reason Im asking is because this machine lost an Evap Barrel and I don't think it was Properly Dried, oil , driers changed etc.....

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,110
    Theres no evaporater scavenger line on an RTAA
    The toy chest is officially full ... I got a new toy..... 2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Down by the river
    Posts
    1,687
    Oil scavenger only on falling film evaps.

    Rtaa refrigerant runs through tubes and water in shell

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    85
    Don't mean to hijack the thread here, but where can I find service bulletins for a RTAA1005XK02A3COBFGN, serial is U98M04205.
    Has been tripping erractically on Low EWT Temp, all four sensors (EWT, LWT, Suction S.H. Comp S.H.) were replaced about a year ago.
    Flow is well withing the proper range, 300 GPM. Sensor temperature readings line up bang on with actual thermometers.
    Also, is there a special tool for those sensor connections? Looks similar to a push down tool for network cable? Should you keep the insulation
    on the wire and let the connector 'bite', or strip the wire?

  12. #38
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    264
    Don't strip the wire. What temp chilled water are you running when does it trip?

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    85
    Chilled water setpoint is 40F, running a 35% propylene glycol solution.
    I've never actually been around when the unit trips, by the time I get there the loop is up to 70F+.
    The connections on the terminal was bare, I cut it back and left the insulation on, use my pocket screwdriver to insert it. Is there an actual tool for that?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event