Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    5

    Confused Heat pump for mobile home

    Ok here goes I live in an 1994 model DW MH in NC and currently have a propane furnace with ac. Im looking to get and heat pump installed and do away with the propane it getting to expensive. I have had 3 contractors come out and look so far. The thing that I was wondering is the 3rd contractor said that I would not be able to achieve more then 13 seer in a mobile home the other contractors said nothing of the sort. Now im more confused then i started just looking for some advise on what i need to do. I guess what im saying looking for advise on the best and most cost effective (funds limited lol) approach

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    107
    You can go higher than 13 seer. I live in a mobile home myself and have had a 16 seer unit for the last two years. Not sure why contractor #3 told you 13 seer was the max, maybe it's the equipment he offers, maybe there was something else. I would definately ask him to find out. The more info you have the better. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Camel City, NC
    Posts
    6,232

    MH equipment

    agree with last poster about seer rating. Did all the contractors say that only equipment approved for use in mobile homes may be installed in them? I sure hope so because it will not pass a mechanical inspection if not.
    Be safe not fast. body parts don't grow back

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Edna Bay, Alaska Highest concentration of black bears in the US
    Posts
    623
    I wonder if He means that the duct-work is so inadequate, that the higher seer ratings won't translate into eer ratings.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    5
    ummm yea contractor 3 said vent were to small 4x10 i think they are and said something about static pressure said max would be 14 seer if everything was in great shape. seemed like he knew what he was talking about but contractor 2 did not say anything about it an was pricing a 15 seer unit and he seemed knowledgeable to i have few more coming to look will delve into it deeper whaaaahahaa

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    5
    oh yea as of right now contractor 3 quoted lowest price i have herd it not so much of the name on the stuff as it was the install of product that matters just was wondering if what he said was a fear sales pitch lol

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,763
    Due to your duct work, he's right. You would need to replace all of your duct work, to get any real benefit from a higher SEER unit.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    27
    Make shure new system has a high static blower, if you are planning reusing the exsisting ductwork. A 13 SEER heatpump should be fine for a DWMH. Do your quotes include electrical improvements, or a service upgrade for electrical requirments? Switching from gas to a heatpump you will need some type of back up or 2nd stage heat, or you might look into a dual fuel set up. A dual fuel set up maybe a good choice if your furnace is in good shape.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    5
    the system i have is going on 17 years old not given any real problems but time to cash it in the 3rd contractor did say that was new wiring in to the new blower. and a 15k heat strip for back up it cant be as high as using propane I live in NC at foot of the mountains and it does get cold just not for very long periods. the others were pushing me to get 15 seer units but i don't see paying for them if there would not be any benefit seeing how i can barley afford a new system, upgrading ducts is out of question. oh yea thank for all the in put and help you all have given me god will bless you for this

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    927

    Is there

    enough electric service to the MH or are you going to need a heavy up to operate the heat pump and electric heaters when needed? I would be more inclined to keep the propane furnace, install a heat pump, and use the furnace as your back up.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    5
    the breaker for my current unit is outside the house beside my electric meter totally separate from my other fuse box for everything else so i would say i do have enough power

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event