Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    12
    I ran out of oil-have some now-how do i get this thing going? its an oldy, American Standard Arco Liner Model WO351, series 4B. When i hit the restart switch it runs a minute but wont fire-up. How do i prime or whatever?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    that's easy..pick up the phone book and call someone.
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,866
    Its too late. when you let it run out, you olso get the sludge from the bottom of the tank. Now the fuel distrbution has been compromised. Call for service tommorrow. Go to Lowes and by 3) 20 $ radiant heaters and then store them in a closet for the next emergency. Emergency add-on will probly cost more than the 3 heaters.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    12

    fuel distribution compromised?

    ive run out at least 4 times in 7 years, my previous oil man was able to "prime it" in about a minute, dont know what he did though. my current delivery man doesnt know how.

    recently had furnace worked on and that tech said it was easy, "the bleader valve is right on the side of the furnace" the tank is two years old and was recently drained due to me putting gasoline instead of diesel fuel into it (another story, and where i got my user name).

    anyways i dont think sludge would be an issue (but what do i know). The point is $, i dont got none at the moment,
    i appreciate your professional opinion and would have a tech here if i could.

    low on cash in central mass and its getting cold. i have one little electric heater and cant by two more.

    Can anyone help?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    201
    Not here




    [Edited by Lusker on 11-20-2005 at 11:53 AM]
    ...SHEEESH!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    5,558
    Dummy


    1) STOP HITTING THAT RESET NOW.

    You let your tank run dry now you have to bite the bullet.

    Learn by this mistake.

    If you can get through the night fine, If not then you’ll have to pay.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    12

    its all about liability

    i know, thought maybe a non pro would offer some advice, thanks for the link.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,879
    Since you already admit to putting gas in the tank.

    You now know why we won't tell you how to do it.

    Wait till Monday and have it serviced while the tech's there.

    Money may be tight, but a tune up will save you money.

    Stop trying things yourself, your costing yourself money, not saving.

    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    12

    thanks pecmsg

    i only hit it twice thirty minutes apart, i read what that could cause. Still cant pay though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    5,558

    Re: thanks pecmsg

    Originally posted by dummy
    i only hit it twice thirty minutes apart, i read what that could cause. Still cant pay though.
    Well at least your learning.
    Unfortunately your going to have to pay for this one. As was stated before when the empty tank was filled is kicked up any sediment that was in there. Your filter should be changed, I would also have the system completely checked out. Money may be tight but the winter just started. Put it on your credit card and in the future don’t let the tank run low. Good Luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event