Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24

Thread: coleman coil

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes

    coleman coil

    help?? Just installed new coleman 2 ton 410a a/c with horizontal coil with txv with a 60,000 btu 80 % heater in attic. Only half of coil getting cold. Can not get subcooling or a good split. I changed txv 2 times. Also replaced freon 3 times. no change???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    568
    Post Likes

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by lioni hvac View Post
    help?? Just installed new coleman 2 ton 410a a/c with horizontal coil with txv with a 60,000 btu 80 % heater in attic. Only half of coil getting cold. Can not get subcooling or a good split. I changed txv 2 times. Also replaced freon 3 times. no change???
    curious, coming off the furnace, do you have a nice transition duct the longer the transition duct the better,so it spreads out the airflow so it catches the whole coil?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    coil is on furnace

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    I did the same system last week it works fine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    568
    Post Likes

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by lioni hvac View Post
    coil is on furnace
    yeah i got that, but the coil is horizontal, correct? which means its lying on its side, did the other coil have a a-coil or a horizontal coil. what was wrong with the old coil? was this a easy swap, or did you modify the duct coming off furnace! how much space is from the furnace top to the horizontal coil.1 ft. or is the coil jammed up against the furnace and did you just fill in the gaps with tape/metal, trying too get a mental picture here!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    568
    Post Likes

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by lioni hvac View Post
    I did the same system last week it works fine.
    ok maybe one of the pros has a suggestion, good luck!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    case coil system laying on its side a coil

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    568
    Post Likes

    Hmm

    Quote Originally Posted by lioni hvac View Post
    case coil system laying on its side a coil
    how long have you been doing this type of work, do you have a co. or work for some one?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    company 15 years first time this happen to me and my friends

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Triad - North Carolina
    Posts
    484
    Post Likes
    Reuse lineset? Purge lineset? Evacuation to what micron level? Feed tubes freezing one side only? What is the superheat and subcool values? Airflow measured?

    More information and maybe a few pics may help.
    Yes, I've seen that before and it doesn't mean I like it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    Yes reuse lineset, yes purge linset, Evacuation good. I pulled blower motor wire and ran a/c All feed tubes froze. Subcooling 3, airflow good my spilt is 10

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Post Likes
    Also feed tubes does not freeze with system not running.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,058
    Post Likes

    Are these

    Quote Originally Posted by lioni hvac View Post
    Yes reuse lineset, yes purge linset, Evacuation good. I pulled blower motor wire and ran a/c All feed tubes froze. Subcooling 3, airflow good my spilt is 10
    readings correct? You only have 3 degree subcool?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech365 Virtual Event