Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 30

Thread: Wire size

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    460
    In our neck of the woods here is what wire needs to be on what breaker.

    15amp 14Awg
    20amp 12Awg
    30amp 10Awg
    40amp 8Awg
    50amp 6Awg

    Breaker does not protect equipment as so much as stops the wire from catching fire.

    If the unit requires minimum of 50amp I would run 6Awg
    You're Only As Good As Your Last Service Call or Install.....Make it Count!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Van Buren Arkansas
    Posts
    16

    wire size

    Quote Originally Posted by MM#7 View Post
    what year unit was it and how long ago was it installed?
    The customer said, "it was installed 11 years ago.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Des Plaines,IL
    Posts
    1,018
    Quote Originally Posted by acts238 View Post
    I came across a 5 ton Rheem condenser the other day, with a 50 amp min. circuit capacity. It had a 30 amp breaker at the panel. The customer has called the electrician. When they are done., I am going back to resize the wire from the disconnect to the condenser. It is currently running a 10 wire. I'm thinking; at least 8 AWG.
    I know this is residential, but is this single phase or 3-phase?
    Stuart
    Lack of airflow destroys compressors.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Van Buren Arkansas
    Posts
    16

    wire size

    Quote Originally Posted by mcewans View Post
    I know this is residential, but is this single phase or 3-phase?
    single phase

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,804
    Quote Originally Posted by Ingersoll AC View Post
    In our neck of the woods here is what wire needs to be on what breaker.

    15amp 14Awg
    20amp 12Awg
    30amp 10Awg
    40amp 8Awg
    50amp 6Awg

    Breaker does not protect equipment as so much as stops the wire from catching fire.

    If the unit requires minimum of 50amp I would run 6Awg
    Question for you.

    I see the electricians on Mike Holmes TV show installing panels with the long dimension oriented horizontal. What is the thinking behind that?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    568

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    Question for you.

    I see the electricians on Mike Holmes TV show installing panels with the long dimension oriented horizontal. What is the thinking behind that?
    jmo, that show originates in canada, i think its a canadian thing, ive never seen that in the usa, but i havent been in every house in the us! if i had to take a guess by going horizontal, there more clearance from the floor, just a guess! ps, i wonder if holmes, would ever get a job he bid on, he never likes anything,and his motto, is rip it out, i'm the only guy in the world that can do it right! and most people if they had to pay his rates would be in shock.broke. i watch hisshow less and less, again, he comes off as the only guy in the world that can build anything, finally most people get what they pay for!not always, but the average consumer buys on price!

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,804
    The poster I referenced is Canadian.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Van Buren Arkansas
    Posts
    16

    Lack of Airflow Kills Compressors

    Quote Originally Posted by mcewans View Post
    I know this is residential, but is this single phase or 3-phase?
    I had a call last night, no cool: determined that the fan side of the dual run cap was "no bueno". I didn't have the required microfarads on board; so, I went back this morning, (Saturday) with a turbo 200 (all they had). Out of curiousity I looked in the main return box, and saw a 14 in. round dust spot, on the plenum insulation, that was not cut out in the installation.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    568

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    The poster I referenced is Canadian.
    ok.

  10. #23
    you need a minimum #6 wire for a 50-60 amp breaker---I never agreed with doing by the max size because the breaker does act as a fuse.... why would you be ok with the amps being that high to begin with? There is obviously an issuse going on with excess amp draw loose txv bulb, over charge, dirty condenser, lack of return airlow ect.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Van Buren Arkansas
    Posts
    16

    wire size

    Quote Originally Posted by Senator View Post
    you need a minimum #6 wire for a 50-60 amp breaker---I never agreed with doing by the max size because the breaker does act as a fuse.... why would you be ok with the amps being that high to begin with? There is obviously an issuse going on with excess amp draw loose txv bulb, over charge, dirty condenser, lack of return airlow ect.
    We called an electrician out for this customer. They ran #6 wire all the way to the unit. New 50 amp breaker, new disconnect, real fine job.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,033
    Unless you hire the electrician, you can't bill for him. How are you going to get paid for the whip if you didn't install it.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Van Buren Arkansas
    Posts
    16

    wire size

    Quote Originally Posted by Milk man View Post
    Unless you hire the electrician, you can't bill for him. How are you going to get paid for the whip if you didn't install it.
    I hadn't thought of that. The electrician is a guy I know, and I just had the customer call him.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event