Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    I have a heat pump that ocasionally requires the high pressure switch to be reset. This has occured about 4 times in the past 2 months. The system was recharged with freon an a new valve installed. Any ideas as to what causes this?
    Thanks,
    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    1,209
    Post Likes
    If this occurs in A/C you may have plugged outdoor coil. In heat it could be a dirty filter or indoor coil. If none of these it could be a bad pressure switch or other sealed system issue. Have the tech return.
    Proud supporter of Springfield Millers and Oregon Ducks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thanks for your professional advice.
    Have a great day.
    Tom

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    996
    Post Likes
    I second the dirty coil or filter theory, also are you restricting any of the registers or return air grills. Make sure the returns are clear of obstructions. (couches etc...)
    "Go big or Go Home"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NE PA
    Posts
    698
    Post Likes
    Could be overcharged too.

    paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    The service tech did tell me that he put more freon in than was needed. It seems to me that the switch had to be reset only once before he came out.

    Thanks for your comments.
    Tom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    2,933
    Post Likes
    Did you ask him why? An over charged system does less useful work and costs more in energy to operate. So, in essence, you pay more and get less.

    Bobby

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    He was suspecting there may have been a leak somewhere but did not have a detection tool with him. So he told me he put extra in to compensate. I most likely will not be using his services again.

    Thanks for your comments.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,383
    Post Likes
    Originally posted by noxvultom
    I most likely will not be using his services again.
    Smart move!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,877
    Post Likes
    have your evaporator cleaned and check fan speed, return air size and filter. if your have an electrostatic filter pull it out and go get a pleated filter.
    also could have an outdoor metering devise or drier restricted and system overcharged. a

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    Post Likes
    is it by any chance a rheem/ruud?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Dothan, Al
    Posts
    3,453
    Post Likes
    Originally posted by billva
    is it by any chance a rheem/ruud?

    Just what I was going to ask.

    Richard

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Yes, this unit is a Rheem. Thanks for all of your posts.
    I am getting an education here. A service person will be out to check the unit this afternoon.

    We only had emergency heat last night since the high pressure switch would not engage...thus the compressor did not operate.

    Clean filters are in place.

    Any other suggestions/thoughts?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards