Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Heat Pump Metering Device (indoor unit)

Is this an orifice or capillary tube metering device and why is there no check valve?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Quote Originally Posted by greenhorn520 View Post
    Is this an orifice or capillary tube metering device and why is there no check valve?
    Are you in the Trade? We can't give much technical advice to homeowners..
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

"Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

I am a student trying to learn. I may be entering the trade very soon. I just read about heat pump metering devices and it sounds like most of them use a check valve, although it did say refrigerant can flow either way through a capillary tube. This is the unit in the place I live.

What you have is a piston coil. A check valve would be on a system with a TXV, not all TXV systems have check valves.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

I am a student trying to learn. I may be entering the trade very soon. I just read about heat pump metering devices and it sounds like most of them use a check valve, although it did say refrigerant can flow either way through a capillary tube. This is the unit in the place I live.
    Where were you reading this at? A lot of the textbooks show piping schematics.
    If there was a check valve you would see a bypass line around the MD.
    The Flowrater is not restricting flow in the other direction. Again not going into much detail.

Its a good trade. Very rewarding if you ask me!
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

"Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."