Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Comments on Trane CleanEffects Maintenance and Reliability?

I'm considering the Trane CleanEffects filter with XV95 and Trane AC. What is the maintenance like on these filters? It looks like several filters have to be removed and washed? Or just vacuumed with a shop van? How often? It seems like I would be more exposed to dust and pollen (I have allergies) during the cleaning process than I might want to be or would be just swapping conventional filters?

Any comments on the reliability of these units?

Not really familiar with that model, and not a fan of electronic air cleaners, so I generally recommend a plain 5" media filter.
    The filter in your HVAC system is not there to clean the air in your home, it is there to protect the equipment from dust and dirt.
    If you have special air filtration needs, look into whole house air cleaners.
    I'm not an expert on indoor air quality, but there are many on this site who are, and can give excellent advice in this area.
    "Hey Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort." And he says, "there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice. - Carl Spackler

you should clean the pre filter at least every month or two

I am a Trane dealer and hate them

Not exactly a ringing endorsement there Danimal!
    Can you elaborate?
    "Hey Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort." And he says, "there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice. - Carl Spackler

i like the april aire 2200 filter!

Cool Trane Clean Effects filter system.

We do them all the time and they take a LOT of time to clean properly. You have three basic elements: the pre-filter, EAC and honeycomb filters. Here's my procedure: