Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy

    I have a quadrafire 1200I going on 5 years. No problems until this year. Stove would not stop feeding pellets and the ignitor is not working. I replaced the control module according to their directions with a new and supposedly improved module purchased from a dealer.

    First I contacted my selling dealer and left a message twice in one week to have a tech come out to the house. No Response not a call - -nothing.

    After replacing the module nothing seems to work. Upon intial plug in combustion blower runs approx 20 mins and the blue light blinks once every 10 secs. after that nothing on the stove works. No auger, No ignitor, and neither blower works.

    Please any suggestions

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,142

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,142

    Oops!

    OK, so I tried it without my glasses:

    http://www.quadrafire.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    32
    I have a Quadrafire Santa Fe that I purchased in Feb 2003 that had the same issue. Sometimes when it came on, it would feed pellets non-stop. The local dealer was absolutely worthless - I can't understand why Quadrafire lets any bozo have a dealership that can't even spell the word "pellet stove", much less install or service them.

    Anyway, I called Quadrafire tech support, they sent me a control board (through my local bozo dealer), and that did fix the issue.

    When you get the newer style control board, there is a dial that you have to set to the correct number for your pellet stove...did you do that?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3

    Fixed

    Thanks for your assistance. I contacted Quadrafire support a few times over the last few business days. Very helpful and supportive. There was an open in the snap disc #2 or #3 (not sure) for the thermostat circuit.

    Like you both my reseller and another area dealer were completely useless and seemed as if they did not want to be bothered in helping me. Sad but I can't recommend either one of these dealers to anyone in the future.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,142

    Confused Thanks???

    "Like you both my reseller and another area dealer were completely useless and seemed as if they did not want to be bothered in helping me."

    I'm confused. You thanked us for assistance then slammed us with this message. Not sure if you intended it this way but it reads as though you are slamming me and bcb1?

    I did put you in touch with the mfr., which is the proper place to get technical support and not some Internet chat site. If I didn't want to be bothered in helping you, I wouldn't have responded.

    Please clarify your position. Thank you and I'm glad the unit is working. Its a shame your dealer could not provide you with good support but I'm sure the mfr. will take that up with them.

    Have a nice day,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3

    I apologize

    No I apologize! My area resellers were useless and unresponsive to my problems. It seems if you don't want to purchase something new that they don't want to be bothered.

    Quadrafire support personnel (phone tech support) were extremely helpful and willing to quickly resolve my situation.

    Again I apologize this forum was the starting point to a successful repair. Thanks again!

    I hope this clears things up... I really didn't mean to offend anyone involved with this forum.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    199

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by heatwanted View Post
    No I apologize! My area resellers were useless and unresponsive to my problems. It seems if you don't want to purchase something new that they don't want to be bothered
    You would be surprised how wide spread this issue is across many different manufactures and dealers. The whole network of hearth shops seems to be disconnected from reality. Just simple things like scheduling is a nightmare for most end users. getting parts from the distributor is complicated, messy and unprofessional. Its like this whole industry is run on sticky notes but that my rant im done

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Problem with quadra 1200i

    I cleaned my vent pipe and removed ash around the chimney cap. Pellet stove is now starting and feeding correctly for the past 24 hours. Must have been lack of vacuum. Thanks everyone for your help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by Jman3 View Post
    I cleaned my vent pipe and removed ash around the chimney cap. Pellet stove is now starting and feeding correctly for the past 24 hours. Must have been lack of vacuum. Thanks everyone for your help.

    that will do it gj. make sure the rest of the stove is clean also, refer to your owners manual for complete instructions

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Same problem different day

    Cleaned my quadra 1200i and vent pipe well and it worked well for 2 days. Now it is not feeding properly again but it is a random event. Start the burn cycle fine as the firepot is loaded with pellets. Fire starts and then no more pellets even with call light on. Clearly the auger is not feeding pellets. I push the reset button and feed more pellets then the stove works fine. I have read every thread and there are a million suggestions. Vacuum, firepot gasket, thermocouple, control box. Can anyone provide an educated guess based on the type of behavior. I have no problem troubleshooting the stove but I want to attack this problem by addressing the most likely problem first. Appreciate everyone's thoughts and how to approach the myriad of potential fixes.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    32
    No problem - no offense taken here. I agree that Quadrafire's tech support is great, once you get through to someone other than the guy or gal on the first level support that reads from a script on a computer. If you can actually talk to one of their true tech-support gurus, they are very nice and very knowledgeable.

    But I've gotta say...it gives Quadra Fire a very bad name, having dealers that sell stoves but has no clue how to repair and troubleshoot them. Luckily I'm a computer geek for my day job; so I don't mind fooling around and troubleshooting stuff that doesn't work - it's kind of a challenge for me. But as much as I do like my stove, there is no way I'd recommend my local dealer either.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,142

    Talking Quad is monitoring this site

    I contacted a friend at Quad and they are monitoring this site, so your comments will get to them and they will take a look at their dealer network.
    Thx for the feedback,

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event