Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: alerton ddc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    120

    alerton ddc

    Trying to get a grasp on how alerton works.Have a job with envision 3.6 and i'm just tring to see how the controls are programmed,i open the ddc editor(dos based)and don't want to mess around in there without some documentation.Does anyone know if they publish a manual for it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Council Bluffs, Iowa
    Posts
    109
    First that has to be 2.6 I think the latest version is 3.0

    Yes it uses the Dos editor, or Visio ( If Installed ) to program.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Stongsville Oh
    Posts
    903
    Visual lgic is the programing tool. when you open DDC and select a file you will see a graphig flow chart and drag and drop coponents to your right. You can mess aroud as long as you don,t sent to device. As far as manuals go they are available on ASN. Alerton Support Network. As Matt said I don't know about v3.6.
    ckartson
    I didn't write the book I just read it!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    96
    You are probably looking for this: http://www.scribd.com/doc/62602565/A...ACtalk-Systems

    There are two ways of VLC programming. DOS-like DDC could be used for quick check and small corrections, but generally VisualLogic is a better choice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    120
    Thanks for the link,the job doesn't have visio installed so im left with the dos interface.Is it similar to tranes pcm edit?,i belive the programmer used one of the predefined programs that allerton provides but now it needs to be optimized.Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    96
    If you could not install Visio there, it would take a while to understand unfamiliar program with unfamiliar (and ancient) tool.
    DDC window shows one command at a time; there are no symbolic names like "Fan Stop", only BR-1, AV-2 etc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    120
    Thanks i'll get visio

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    375
    Depending on how old your Alerton controllers are, Visio may or may not be of much help to you. I'm not sure if they have changed it, but I remember the Gen 4 VLC's did not have enough flash memory to store all the architecture of the visual logic plug in. When you would upload the controller without the original Visio program on your computer, I would just give you a pile of blocks on the screen with no pretty lines or flow chart.

    The old VLC DDC program is archaic at best, but if you have a good memory it isn't all that bad. Just get a scratch pad and a sharp pencil.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    107
    It depends on how large the program is, and how the programmer chose to send it. If your code is not overly complex, it will all fit. But you really should just open the original. The original copy of software in visio form should reside on the server, with all the descriptions, geometric data, etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event