Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 35 of 35
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,944
    Well, it doesn't have to be to work, just to keep from damaging the heat exchanger. This is why you don't get long warranties on heat exchangers of packaged gas units where the evap coil is before the heat exchanger.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  2. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    1,209
    I am curious if any one ever reads install manuals or are they used primarily for knee pads? Electric air handlers or fan coils always have the coil mounted on the return, fuel burning equipment (residential furnaces) require the coil be mounted downstream of the furnace. If your popping of the high pressure switch and it is a heap pump, explore the reason for this. The location of the coil doesn't matter to the pressure switch unless the coil is after the furnace and both are running (furnace and heat pump). The only reason a coil is mounted after a fuel burning furnace is because of rust. What state is the system in when the HP switch opens? Heat pump running and no fire from furnace just blower? This seems to be simple diag procedure. Good luck
    Proud supporter of Springfield Millers and Oregon Ducks.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bemidji, Mn
    Posts
    3,573
    No the gas isnt running. Damn, anyways I didnt go back, was building a walkin all day, thankfully. Dont know if anyone went yet.

    You picked a fine time to leave me loose wheel...

    http://rapalaguy.spaces.live.com/

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    You did say the sytem was going out on High Pressure. Check the reversing valve for proper operation.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bemidji, Mn
    Posts
    3,573
    How would this make it go out on High Pressure? Its hotter than mollases after the txv.
    You picked a fine time to leave me loose wheel...

    http://rapalaguy.spaces.live.com/

  6. #32
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Grapevine, Texas
    Posts
    82
    why would you want a heat pump if you had a gas furnace?
    Me:here's your invoice. The total is $$.. Customer:Oh would you check...while your here?

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    Originally posted by jerry-in-grapevine-tx
    why would you want a heat pump if you had a gas furnace?
    In some areas of the country electric is cheaper than gas at mild outside temp's.

    Most of our winter averages 40deg's. The heat pump runs anytime it is above 35 deg's and below 35deg's, the gas furnace will run. This is called a dual fuel system.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bemidji, Mn
    Posts
    3,573
    Possibly had an undersized r/a, 8x14. We will see...


    You picked a fine time to leave me loose wheel...

    http://rapalaguy.spaces.live.com/

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,927
    Originally posted by Chad711
    Possibly had an undersized r/a, 8x14. We will see...


    thats it .increase airflow

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event