Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 650 foot well?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chapel hill nc.
    Posts
    254

    650 foot well?

    I have a house that I am getting ready to install a 038 ttv climatemaster at, the house has a 2.4 ton cooling load and I was planning on using two 300ft vertical wells with one inch pipe. The water well driller on this job drilled a 650 ft water well that only produced one gallon a minute so the owner is asking me if we can use that well and just do a single 1300ft closed loop. Have any of you guys installed a loop this long? bigger pumps? efficiency issues? Thanks,
    Bryan

    BTW drilling and grouting are very high in my area 18-ft.

  2. #2
    One GPM? Must be a mistype or I read something wrong. 4 to 6 GPM would be the min. for a 2 1/2 ton unit. I quess he could put in a tower and only run the unit every couple of hours for a few minutes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chapel hill nc.
    Posts
    254
    the one gpm number is for the unusable 650ft water well that we would change to a closed loop 8-9 gpm well. (one loop, pressurized and grouted top to bottom)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chapel hill nc.
    Posts
    254
    The original well was for potable water for the house and it just did not hit enough water so we are trying to make lemonade out of this lemon.

  5. #5
    You're going to want to step up to 1 1/4 pipe to accommodate the 9gpm needed by the ttv038.

    650 vertical feet of pipe should be more than enough for a 3-ton system depending on where you're located. If you have access to ClimateMasters GeoDesigner software I would run it through that to confirm.

    As far as pumping goes, you'll likely have to bump up to a dual 26-99 flowcenter for this one. (that'd still be much more affordable over the long haul than drilling 2 new holes in the ground).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Denver, PA
    Posts
    31
    Did they hit magma?

    It should be fine to use as long as you use the proper piping and circulators to get your GPM right and reynolds number within line.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Eastern Shore, MD
    Posts
    798
    yea...high heating loads and hard rock require those kind of depths

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    39
    We had an 800ft artesian well drilled on a ranch I worked on. It was capped off like an oil well, the hose coming off it was the size of a firehose, and it would fill a 10,000 gallon tank in about 45 minutes.

    The water temperature coming out of it was 79F. They used it to heat their house in the winter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event