Humidifier Not Working
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    45
    I had a new Bryant Heat pump dueal fuel system put in this Fall -- Noticed that the humidifier is nto working.


    What should I check before havinf the HVAC company come out.

    So far -- I checked the humidstat control, pegged it all the way to the on positiona and checked the wiring to make sure everthign connected.

    It is a hOneywell bypass himidifier. It was replaced last year and kept for this furnace.

    Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    Sounds like you have got it covered.

    Make a call, they may have simply hooked it up wrong?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    if they reinstalled the himidifier incorrectly, it should be a warranty issue.

    if a defective part, i'd have to say its on you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,903
    Make sure that the water supply valve is open.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Howell MI
    Posts
    167
    Was the furnace even running while you had the "test" going?
    Is it Friday yet?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,333
    Originally posted by billva
    if they reinstalled the himidifier incorrectly, it should be a warranty issue.

    if a defective part, i'd have to say its on you.
    but if you monkey with it it will void the warranty

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    45
    Ok -- I'll give them a call. SOmething isn't right. What I

    am worried about i that they just did the winter start-up -- with my paid agreement and it was checked that humidifier worked -- but I don't think it did.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    45
    HVAC company came out today. Said humidifier will only come on with furnace -- not heat pump. Said he suggested installing a sail switch int he return duct. Seems like a current sensing switch on the blower work just as well?


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    45
    Is a sail switch how this is usually done?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    201
    A sail switch is an acceptable way to bring on the humidifier. I usually do go with a current sensing relay though. If it's a new furnace (you said dual fuel but didn't specify oil or gas) it may have humidifier terminals on the PC board. Or EAC terminals even. You just energize the transformer for the humidifier off those terminals and the board does the decision making for you. This way you don't have to worry about it coming on when you run the A/C next summer.
    ...SHEEESH!!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    45
    Is a gas furnace -- apparently the tech said that the board does not energize the humidifier unles furnace is blowing -- not the humidifier.

    Id does have a humidifier termianl

  12. #12
    Originally posted by bodhisatva
    If it's a new furnace (you said dual fuel but didn't specify oil or gas) it may have humidifier terminals on the PC board. Or EAC terminals even. You just energize the transformer for the humidifier off those terminals and the board does the decision making for you.
    It's not that simple on a dual fuel system. The board will not bring on the humdifier when the heat pump is running... which is what he posted above.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event