Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Supermarket with humidity problems

Hi. I am currently working on a supermarket with humidity problems. Humidity cant get lower than 70%rh. I put a data logger and sometimes RH% gets to 90!!!! There is even starting to grow mold on the ceiling. The problem is mainly in the freezers and refrigeration area that is close to the entrance of the supermarket. They installed a motored air curtain in the entrance to keep the outside air outside. The a/c for that area is a 25 ton York split system. Some people recomended me that they should install a reheat coil in the supply duct to reduce humidity. Is it true that reheat coils remove humidity and need a drain? I have no experience with reheat coils. I wanted to know what you guys recomend. Thanks!

I will assume that you are a technician.

First advice that I will give you is to get your post count up and apply for free Professional Membership. We can discuss humidity control in much more depth in the Pro Technical forums here.

Is all of the AC in the building working correctly? Charged right, airflows right, filters cleaned, etc?

What controls the AC? Are the settings correct?

I'd also stop using %RH as a metric for humidity and instead start using Dewpoint temperature for two reasons.
    1. Dewpoint is what really matters in a supermarket. We're concerned with keeping the equipment happy.
    2. Dewpoint is a better measure of the absolute quantity of moisture in the air.

Reheat coils are for keeping the space comfortable while the AC runs almost continuously.

I dont do markets but if a building needs an air curtain to try an contain infiltration when doors open I think the issue lies elsewhere . . .

Quote Originally Posted by hvac wiz 79 View Post
    I dont do markets but if a building needs an air curtain to try an contain infiltration when doors open I think the issue lies elsewhere . . .