Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Bad Compressor or compressors?

    CARRIER
    MODEL# 48TJE012---511GA
    SERIAL# 1297G30820

    TEN TON TWO STAGE RTU
    STAGE ONE OPERATION NORMAL 17.5 AMPS
    STAGE TWO VOLTAGE NO OPERATION OHM'D S,R,C WINDINGS FOUND OL ON ALL.
    PLAN IS TO REPLACE COMPRESSOR 2. WOULD THERE BE REASON TO REPLACE COMP 1 EX: ACID FROM COMP 2 BURNING OUT

    BEAR WITH ME I'M FAIRLY NEW TO THE COMMERCIAL HVAC

    THANKS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    16,994
    I would do one only. No interconnection between stages.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    16,994
    And don't use caps when posting. Thanks.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anytown USA
    Posts
    2,041
    Was the compressor shell really hot when you ohmed the windings, or was it cold?

  5. #5
    John Culpepper's Avatar
    John Culpepper is offline CHANGE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS Professional Member*
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,766
    It could have been out on thermal OL. Were any of the winding shorted to ground? I'm assuming if you have S R C windings that it is single phase, and so was the capacitor checked?
    Nemo me impune lacessit.

    How much blood do I have to bathe in to get clean?

    Don't look down on anyone unless you're helping them up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,201
    I don't ever think I've seen a 10 ton single phase package unit. I'm assuming this unit is 3 phase and your ohming across L1, L2, & L3. Most of the times the terminals are marked R,S,&C in addition to L1, L2, & L3. As previously posted, are you sure the thermal overload wasn't opened? You would have to have at least 2 windings open for all 3 legs to show open if the overload was closed plus you would more than likely show a ground. Was the compressor hot when you checked it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    16,994
    The OP is just confused because CSR is still shown along with T1, T2, and T3. The 012 is a three phase unit.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    it was cold. i removed all the wires to it, so any capacitor would be out of the loop. overload was closed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,201
    Just curious.....how did you determine the overload was closed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    16,994
    There are no caps in the compressor wiring. Three phase compressors don't use them or need them.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event