Page 1 of 13 1234567811 ... LastLast

Smile

Hey Fellas!I'm a 50 year-old woman who recently graduated from a local Denver tech college with a diploma in HVACR.I graduated with honors with a cumulative G.P.A.of 3.87 and I have an EPA Universal Certification through RSES(with a score of 93%).But NO ONE HERE WILL HIRE ME.No one seems to be willing to take me on as an apprentice.Even though they don't know my age(and legally can't ask)it is easy to see that I'm not a PYT.I'm overweight but my hair is MOSTLY still brown(a few gray strands here and there).So what I'm wondering is;Is it my appearance alone that is costing me the potential jobs?I could lose weight and dye my hair,but I can't get any younger!I feel as though I have everything going against me-age,weight,sex-and my inexperience adds to the frustration.I admit that I'm not physically strong as a man,but I'm not looking for a "free ride"either.I can lift heavy things,with a little help.Aside from that I am knowledgeable in the basics of HVACR "theory"and can do basic troubleshooting.I have the basic hand tools that I was issued through school(Westwood College of Technology) which are mostly Klein.I received A's in ALL of my HVACR classes(only ONE GRADE was less than an A--I got a B in a computer class).I think that my knowledge and academic credentials should count more than my sex/age/weight.What suggestions do you gentlemen have?Should I pursue more training/schooling,maybe a formal apprenticeship program?

http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=86263

look here kinda what you are looking for

good luck to you but it may be an uphill battle

It's hard to believe that nobody will give you a chance.
    The last three apprentices I've worked with have been totally unskilled, with no mechanical aptitude, and no refrigeration cycle knowledge, to the point where I asked the boss if his help wanted ad actually said "We'll take ANYBODY!"