Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    I require a furnace with 119,000 btu output which wold be about 140,000 size. Does anyone know who makes this size with variable speed 2 -stage. I currently have a Carrier which works great but they do not go this big.

    Thanks for your help

    London Ontario Canada

    Brian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,305
    Has a manual J been done to the home? Must be a large home if you really need something that big!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    It is 4100 sq ft (one floor) plus the full basement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,765
    Lennox G61mpv-60d-135 132,000 input, 122,000 output. 94.6 afue, 2stage v drive

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    Would another option be a small boiler with hot water coil in a small Air Handler or would this option be too expensive?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    Is your system zoned?

    Have any improvements been done to the house since the old furnace was installed.

    Has a load calc been done.



    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    The home is not zoned.
    It is a brand new home and the footings are now poured only.

    I require 118,000 btu output for heating.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    428
    Ruud makes a 80% two stage 150,000 btu input. I dont know if they offer an ecm motor for it or not.

    Dave in NJ

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    You plan on heating a 4100 sq ft house with one forced air system with no zoning????

    That sure wouldn't be on my list of desirable ways to heat that size house.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    Originally posted by brians
    The home is not zoned.
    It is a brand new home and the footings are now poured only.

    I require 118,000 btu output for heating.
    Then your in luck.

    You don't need a 118,000 output furnace.
    You need 2 furnaces.

    Use 2, 2 stage furnaces with VS blowers.

    What size a/c does your house require.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    House required 3.5 tonne for a/c.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    First off you cant twin furnaces with VS motors, sorry to say and I am with the others, it simply would not be good application to install one system for this home, even zoned. I mean if you have to twin furnaces to get capacity why not just have 2 systems and allow them to operate independantly. The installer would almost have to have a screw loose to suggest one system for this home.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,613
    Most brands have 90% with 112 to 115,000 BTU output. OK, so that's just a RCH undersized. So on the coldest morning of the year the temp drops to 68 or 69. Big deal. As pointed out, Rheem has 150K 80% with 120K output if you want 80%.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event