Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Hotel HVAC

Hotel HVAC

As I've said before, I'm new to commercial HVAC operations and design.

My question pertains to the systems in use within Hotel facilities.

What do hotels use to provide A/C and heating to guest rooms and common areas.

Most hotels I've seen use individual packaged units mounted near the windows. Is this the typical design in most hotels?

Are there any hotels which use central plants (chillers & boilers), or is this far less efficient then using individual packaged units room by room??

Thanks for your help.

Most good hotels use chillers,package units are too noisy. Most of the time package units are used because they are cheap. Package units are high maintenance,the pay back for being cheap.

Not trying to threadjack but...

Not trying to thread-jack, but this seems so close to the OP that I couldn't see starting another thread for it.

Are there any specific HVAC requirements, other than having HVAC, for the individual chains? I've noticed recently-built Residence Inns are all WSHP in the rooms. (I'll save my thoughts about WSHPs for another thread) The thing I found interesting about one particular one was that they used the exact same WSHP for every single location. They just used more of them in areas which needed more cooling.

Seems to me most new RI's use VTACs, a ducted PTAC.

I did stay in one built in a 100 year old department store building that did have WSHP.

But on the original post, PTACs are cheap and they don't have to have anyone around that knows anything but how to slide on out and another one in if it dies.

Also, many hotels that use chilled water have 2 pipe systems so there is a headache in switching between heat & cool. Won't have that with 4 pipe that that's more expensive. Buildings with chillers and boilers would have to have help that knows what they are doing, that's expensive too.