Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Quick question regarding return duct for High velocity system. Can you have to much return air. Or is more return better to service as many rooms as possible with return duct work. Thanks

If you have the room to run return to every room, you don't need a HV system.

HV systems don't need returns to every room, the cool by asperation.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Originally posted by beenthere
    HV systems don't need returns to every room, the cool by asperation.
    If a bedroom door is normally closed then it would be best to have a return path of some kind, would it not? I realize that most homes (at least locally) only have one or two returns. But that's a bad situation be it HV or not.

I'm not a HV expert so please show me what I'm missing!

An HV system only moves about 240 CFM per ton, or 40 CFM per outlet. The door needs to have a slight under cut, but not much.

Asperation is the mixing of the room air and the supply air.(over simplification)

Its not a total exchange of the room air as in conventional systems.
    Contractor locator map

in Canada with ac present we used to figure roughy 360-400(safe)cfm per ton.

Originally posted by tyreman
    in Canada with ac present we used to figure roughy 360-400(safe)cfm per ton.
    Your talking abouot a conventional a/c? I hope. Not a HV.
    Contractor locator map

Thank you beenthere. I do understand aspiration and the fact that an HV system pushes less volume. I guess the part I was missing was that a door undercut is enough to handle the return. In a small bedroom with just one outlet that would be true, as long as there is indeed a decent undercut. A large master bedroom with a good sized heat load on the other hand-

Yes.

Originally posted by Irascible