Newbie Needs Help

Hi All! I am new to this site and fairly new to HVAC as a whole. I am, by trade, a mechanical engineer, and hold degrees in both mechanical and electrical engineering. Although I have not performed a great deal of work on air conditioning systems, I fully understand how one works, as well as both the physical and mathematical principles at work. I am also very familiar with the various equipment, refrigerants, etc., etc. used in the industry.

In the past, I have assisted a close friend (an HVAC technician) installing, repairing, and troubleshooting air conditioning systems on his side jobs. I am now ready to tackle my first solo condenser replacement, and need some advice regarding tools. I have already acquired the refrigerant, equipment, and miscellaneous supplies.

First and foremost, what tools are required for this task? Which are best, digital or analog manifold gauges? What brand does everyone prefer? How about the digital manifolds that also calculate superheat/subcooling? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

The most important tool is about 10 years of "the school of hard knocks". If I were you I would have my close friend come with me the first couple of "solo" jobs to watch and point out safety concerns. Have him let you do everything, just let him speak up if you are about to hurt yourself. If you don't know what tools are required for this task, you are not ready to fly solo. Torches that can explode with only 15 psi impact, refrigerant that can cause frostbite, voltages that can kill. I have been tinkering with bicycles and cars since I was 10 years old, I have worked as a repairman since I was 18 years old and am very careful by nature, I have been to the emergency room 4 times in 39 years and electrical shocks too many to count, once with 4000 volts, once from a capacitor with 2000 volts, that time my heart stopped. Please be careful and get help if you need it, we don't want any body to get hurt.