another Visionpro ques.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24
    I have read that the vision pro 8321 is a 3 stage t-stat
    however there seems to be the opinion that it can't be used on 1 stage
    heat pump w/2 stage fossil back-up.
    I like the technology of the VP does anyone make a similar
    device that can be used in the setup I have.
    Also I read the manual for Vision pro and
    under the instructions for testing it it says under under installer test #3 option 2 both the stage 1 and 2 turn on. Can doing this damage the heat pump? I didn't think you should run
    the gas heat with the heat pump running.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    2,919
    True, don't run the heat pump with the furnace fired. You can use that Vision Pro to run the set up you describe using a outdoor tstat with single pole double throw contacts. The wiring isn't that hard to figure out.

    Bobby

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    7,414
    Originally posted by subdewd
    Also I read the manual for Vision pro and
    under the instructions for testing it it says under under installer test #3 option 2 both the stage 1 and 2 turn on. Can doing this damage the heat pump? I didn't think you should run
    the gas heat with the heat pump running.
    That test would be for a 2 stage heat pump. If you set the stat up so it controls the fossile fuel back up, it won't ever let the heat pump and furnace run at the same time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24
    OK. You would think the firmware would keep that test
    from being available with Single stage chosen as option
    during setup. Is the white rogers 3 stage a better choice?
    Or does that need to be rigged up like you said with outdoor
    tstat? Can you recommend a outdoor Tstat or are they pretty
    much the same?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,383
    Honeywell outdoor sensor... C7089U 1006

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24
    that's a thermister not a tstat

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,383
    That is what the Honeywell VisionPro uses as the sensor for a dual fuel set-up.

    All it does is sense the outdoor temp to know whether to use the HP or Fossil Fuel for heating.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24
    OK so can you say how it, namely the VP would be used with a 2 stage fossil back up? They have aux and emergency terms.
    Y is first srage (HP), second is Aux? or is it put Y2 on
    first stage of the gas backup and aux on the stage 2 gas.
    Does adding the sensor lockout the compressor whan gas is called . I noticed on the White roger 371 it stated that
    the compressor will run with aux(gas) on for up to one minute.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    5,410
    At 50 and above VP will run HP only. ( outside air temp)35 to 50 HP and back up. Below 35 Back up only. That works with Elec back up but not gas or oil. I wire a relay into the furnace so it cant run when comp is on.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24
    yeah that'll work, Run the call for stage 1 HP through NC
    contracts. Have the call stage 2 through coil and NO contacts to W1 on furnace. Call stage three straight to W2 on furnace. You would think Honeywell would build a solution into their box.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,383
    Please look at the instructions (diagram 15 & 16).

    The VP first stage is (Y & O/B), its second stage is (Aux)... the dual fuel set-up is function (350-360).

    You can set-this stat up to do just about anything.

    There is no need to wire in EXTRA relays. It's built into the stat.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    24
    That figures jultzya, so how about stage three? which is gas stage 2. So far the closest thing I can see is just set the VP to 2 stage and let the furnace time from low to high output.The Vp instructions for 3 stage show 1 and 2
    for the HP and 3 for fossil back up, which I suppose is more common. By the way thanks everyone for your response it just shows how different approachs to the same problem
    leads to different solutions. I called Honeywell last week and the guy I tolked to gave some advice but I could tell from how quick he answered that he was following a scipt.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,383
    The VP will only do one stage of backup.
    (so you will have to rely on the furnace for timing the second stage)

    The 3 stage is for a 2 stage HP with backup.

    I hope they change this sometime in the near future.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event