Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fair Oaks Califorina
    Posts
    92

    New one one me!-Need advice??

    So HVAC-Codes here on the West-side-Change day to day. Someone told me that California is requireing a Common wire on the programable Thermostats and not to use the Batterys-you know---Blue wire LOL.-----They say that the batterys are expireing too fast and are going straight to the Land-fill.----Sooo-If a Tech finds a T-stat with 4-wire---They have to charge for a new-compliance Stat! and 5-wire.----Wow Help????
    Is this B.S
    Thanks-Prostreetray

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cal
    Posts
    1,581
    New one on me too. I guess wireless stats would somehow be illegal.

    If the fifth wire is available, why not use it. Hook it up on both ends and save the batteries

    Pull a fifth? Hmmm. Are you planning on getting a permit and inspection for a stat replacement?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    san jose,ca.
    Posts
    5,285
    Here in ca. we have to pull a permit before we can fart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,339
    Quote Originally Posted by bigbird View Post
    Here in ca. we have to pull a permit before we can fart
    We now know where global warming started.............
    Never give up; Never surrender!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fair Oaks Califorina
    Posts
    92

    Sorry- My Question was sketch

    What I was told is that there are techs going out on HVAC tune-up's.
    When they clean/inspect the stat,and they discover that there is not a common on the T-stat sub-base and that it's a battery eater,they have to install the "New Add a Wire" and replace the thermostat that has a common on the Sub-base.--they are telling the Customers that it is a California Mandate--????????????

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cal
    Posts
    1,581
    Quote Originally Posted by ductguy007 View Post
    They are telling the Customers that it is a California Mandate--????????????
    Is this the same THEY that would have you believe that giant, man eating dust mites reside in your ducts?

    Check the 2010 title 24 code under resi alterations, available on line. Pretty sure they want programmable features and let the other details go.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    384
    Is it also true in california that if you have a repair over (i forget) 800ish that you need to have the whole duct system sealed? I heard that a few years ago.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    112
    I would move

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cal
    Posts
    1,581
    Quote Originally Posted by patrick View Post
    Is it also true in california that if you have a repair over (i forget) 800ish that you need to have the whole duct system sealed? I heard that a few years ago.
    There are different circumstances that would trigger the leakage testing requirement, doesn't apply to all regions(climate based). Project value isn't considered.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    san jose,ca.
    Posts
    5,285
    wE`RE BROKEN UP IN TO CLIMATE ZONES.
    Now i`m in zone 4 , no duct test required or hers rater required.
    No 15 forms to fill out.
    If zones 4 ever reqires this in the futur. i`ll QUIT.& become a pimp/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,808
    Quote Originally Posted by btuhack View Post
    New one on me too. I guess wireless stats would somehow be illegal.

    If the fifth wire is available, why not use it. Hook it up on both ends and save the batteries

    Pull a fifth? Hmmm. Are you planning on getting a permit and inspection for a stat replacement?
    Or use an Edge thermostat, only needs to wires at teh stat, the module can be mounted at teh equipment. Or an IAQ, only needs 3 wires at the stat, EIM can mount at equipment.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,822
    If they are required by law, shouldn't that make it illegal for any store to sell a battery operated stat?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fair Oaks Califorina
    Posts
    92
    No-Because with a common -the batterys are there for back-up only-People are buying the junkers AA's at a cheap price-stats eat them in no time

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event