Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 23 of 23
  1. #14
    Originally posted by moonman1
    The trigger point for the t'stat is probably 1+ degree. If you adjust the setpoint of the t'stat 2 degrees below the indicated room temp, does the unit come on? If so then the discussion of your t'stat should focus on it's sensitivity and ability to bring the sytem on at temp. less than or equal to 1 degree F. Read the IOM carefully to see if a cycling adjustment can be made to improve t'stat performance. Running the furnace blower continuosly can cut the deadband thermal discomfort that you are experiencing.
    Another silly question (sorry):

    What's the IOM? Is it the Installation and Operating Manual?? If so, I assume you mean the one for the furnace. Correct?

    Thanks again!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    Posts
    230
    Correct on IOM...for the thermostat.
    If a day went by without a problem - there'ld be a problem.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Slacking off right now
    Posts
    7,546
    there are no silly questions for a true novice like your self
    good luck dude you are on the steep path of learning
    www.vetopropac.com - The best tool bags on the market - The offical tool bag of choice by techs everywhere

    Arguing with some people is like wrestling a pig - eventually you realise the pig actually enjoys it

    Gonads serve a useful purpose but are no substitute for brains

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bartlett, IL
    Posts
    6,619
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by eapples
    [B][QUOTE][i] Fortunately for me, I sold the house and the new owner has to deal with the problem...it was a real slow leak and the problem didn't reappear until about a year after the house was sold [2000].

    And I bet you don't feel the slightest of guilt about that either......you were probably laughing all the way to the bank...

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    11,808
    Measure the air temp by the stat with a thermometer
    The way we build has a greater impact on our comfort, energy consumption and IAQ than any HVAC system we install.

    http://www.ductstrap.com/

  6. #19

    Hmm

    The tech came and said I need a new hot surface ignitor. Does that sound right?

  7. #20
    Originally posted by truenovice
    The tech came and said I need a new hot surface ignitor. Does that sound right?
    Well, if he replaces it and the furnace works, I will agree.

  8. #21
    Originally posted by ryan_the_furnace_guy
    Originally posted by truenovice
    The tech came and said I need a new hot surface ignitor. Does that sound right?
    Well, if he replaces it and the furnace works, I will agree.
    But does it sound like a reasonable solution?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    657
    If the ignitor doesn't work the furnace won't heat. They do go bad once in a while.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    996
    Your heating problem has nothing to do with your past cooling problems, I would hope that the tech changed the hot surface ignitor and the problem is solved. It is really quite a common problem with newer furnaces. Used to be much more of a problem than it is now. Ignitors are much more durable than they used to be. Still they do go on occasion.
    "Go big or Go Home"

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event