Thread: Tomatoes

Tomatoes

Anyone grow them?
    I have a small, about 2 foot high plant, with four tomatoes at the base of the stalk.
    They are about 3/4 the size of baseballs, and have not grown any bigger for almost two weeks, nor have they changed colors.

Be patient, it takes FOREVER for the first ripe tomatoes. I have 26 plants in the garden, I have been telling myself "any day now" for weeks. Still no color.

Feel your tomatoes. Before they turn red, they soften. This is the "break stage." Once they reach break stage, you can pick them, and put them in a paper bag with a banana to speed ripening. Or, just wait.
    Jason

Quote Originally Posted by stonewallred View Post
    Anyone grow them?
    I have a small, about 2 foot high plant, with four tomatoes at the base of the stalk.
    They are about 3/4 the size of baseballs, and have not grown any bigger for almost two weeks, nor have they changed colors.
    This is my first year for tomatoes. I planted in May. I'm live in the mid-west.

My (two) plants are over 6 feet tall and about 5 feet in diameter. Two differant varieties. One plant is full of (green) tomatoes and one is full of flowers.

I don't exspect ripe tomatoes until Aug-Sept.

Quote Originally Posted by George2 View Post
    This is my first year for tomatoes. I planted in May. I'm live in the mid-west.

My (two) plants are over 6 feet tall and about 5 feet in diameter. Two differant varieties. One plant is full of (green) tomatoes and one is full of flowers.

I don't exspect ripe tomatoes until Aug-Sept.
    Ive been planting madders for years and mine are in the same condition. I do not use any fertilizer or chemicals of any kind. Just nice dark balanced soil.

George2,

When you discribe the tomato plants as 6 feet, that's astounding. What do you put in the soil to make them so big?