Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

compressor issue when charging

so i am a certified tech and was working on a 10-15 year old payne unit suction pressure was 40 so i added r-22. 8 oz. vapor. unit taking refrigeranty at a very slow rate so i added 8 more oz. in a liquid 4 at a time slowly. this got the suction pressure to about 75 and all of a sudden compressor makes intermittent wierd sounds sending the pressure up and down between 75 and 120. then compressor just stopped working. disconnected power and am hoping i just flooded it and in the morning it will be fine. what do you think???

Did it go "ngung ngung ngung PATCHEWWW"? and then repeat a few times before it died?

And then go "HMMMMMM click"?
    Last edited by monkeyspanners; 07-14-2011 at 01:31 PM. Reason: more tech info!

Quote Originally Posted by monkeyspanners View Post
    Did it go "ngung ngung ngung PATCHEWWW"? and then repeat a few times before it died?

Thats good diagnosic info there LOL

My coworker always tries to imitate sounds-usually he ends up getting mad at us when we make him repeat it about 4 or 5 times.

just thought it beared repeating
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

Bahahahahaha

And why are you not a Pro here???

Quote Originally Posted by Chris_Worthington View Post
    And why are you not a Pro here???
    Not to be contentious, but some folks, myself included, never saw the need to become "pro".
    I joined in 2005 and applied for pro status in 2011.
    My status as a pro or as not a pro, never impacted my ability to provide for me and mine, nor did it sell or lose any jobs.
    In fact, a couple of the pro members here, unbeknown to me, were the local gurus I consulted when having a problem.

Quote Originally Posted by stonewallred View Post
    Not to be contentious, but some folks, myself included, never saw the need to become "pro".
    I joined in 2005 and applied for pro status in 2011.