Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: quit smoking

South/West of Quebec in the other part of Canada
    want to quit, any advise, any success stories?

Smoked five packs a day. Quit 6 years ago. No problem. If its time to quit, you will. I didn't use any aids, just smoked my last one, flipped the butt out the window and never looked back. Of course, I gained 40 pounds. Watch out for that.

Smile On a lighter note

I had a friend once that bought a brand new car. I guess back in the 50's. It had a built in cigarette lighter. He was used to lighting up with a match then chunking it out. So down the highway he goes. Pushes the lighter button in, pulls it out, and lights up. Then throws the lighter out the window! There are places around here where it is 50 miles between stores. Good luck though, wait I mean, good luck is making good decisions. Roy

Finally a topic I can comment on with some experience

I have been fighting a 4 pk a day habit for 2 years now. I went through the Veterans Administrations stop smoking program 3x lasted a few months and went back to the smokes. The V. A program gives you the patches and gum if you attend classes....its a good program...seems like I always looked for an excuse to go grab a pack...wife poo pissed me off ..grab smokes.

For now I'm using the patches and gum along with some "Australian Chewing Sticks" (tea tree and cinnamon flavored tooth picks) that I get from the health food stores. This combo seems to be working. I do fine..not grumpy...until I get around a group of smokes then some how I end up with a cigarette in my hand...magic ..best advice...try the patches and gum....the tooth picks work for something to put in your hand and mouth...and avoid smokers
    73% of Americans say that illegal immigration is a problem. The other 27% say, "No habla inglis!"