+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Job Crossover

Post Likes

Job Crossover

I am a 24 yr journeyman electrician, interested in something different.

Is training to be a AC repair tech something that could be a possiblity ? or does it take years ?

Post Likes
    Definitely could be a possibility, but will likely mean a major pay cut, short of working for an AC company as their electrician and then getting OJT on AC.
    There are also night HVAC classes offered in many locations or online training.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    My 5 yr old son "Dad, Siri is not very smart when there's no internet."

Post Likes
    I too want to make the leap into hvac. Im no stranger to the hvac game though. I have been an auto tech for 15 years now and hate it. Was working working for a friend who has his own hvac business. It is demanding but it is no where as demanding as auto tech. All they do is hvac. Mechanic has to know ecerything from troubleshooting to do simplest thing. What hvac people struggle woth is a joke. I laughed at my friend struggle to fit an elbow drain pipe cause the working area is too narrow to him.

... anyway, i got my epa 608 universe card recently and in sear h for a full time job in hvac. Im atill waiting for the call. It has been over a week now and i havent heard from them yet. Lolzzzz. I believe
    Im more than qualified. We will see though.. lolzzz.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Chettana View Post
    It is demanding but it is no where as demanding as auto tech. All they do is hvac. Mechanic has to know ecerything from troubleshooting to do simplest thing. What hvac people struggle woth is a joke.
    Welcome to the site.......and good luck.