Ice machine repair

I am new to the industry and was thinking about specializing in ice machine repair. Is this a viable idea? Do any of the major companies offer training? I live not to far from Manatowoc WI.

Brian

The vast majority of customers want a service contractor that can service all their refrigeration needs (and sometimes even the hot side).

Exceptions to this would be if you set up an ice machine leasing business, or set up a bulk ice manufacturing business. But then, you would also have additional storage equipment to maintain.

As far as education, no one beats the major ice machine companies. Check out their websites, and you can be busy for days learning. Contact your local distributors, and they usually have a yearly seminar with techs from the company they sell do a half day presentation.

You should have many tools in your belt. Good luck!
    Experience is what you have an hour after you need it.

Quote Originally Posted by baub View Post
    The vast majority of customers want a service contractor that can service all their refrigeration needs (and sometimes even the hot side).
    Like baub says, most people use the reefer guy for the ice machine, and if they are happy with their reefer guy, they usually will not call any one else any ways. You could try and become authorized by all the major brands, but warranty work is more of a loss leader, but we have picked up some good clients just by being authorized Scotsman Ice Care reps.

The more things you know how to fix the more profitable you will be which means the more money you will make. It's ok to specialize in one area but I would at minimum recommend ice machines and refrigeration as those seem to go hand in hand. Always try to learn as much as you can about all types of equipment.