Lightbulb

There has to be a formula to estimate heating oil usage but I can't find it. Something containing degree days, square footage... Does anyone know how to estimate usage?

Nate

Super scientific way....look at last years oil bill and double it.

Sounds like alot of variables.....gph of furnace,load calculation of house,cycles per hour,etc.
    If everything was always done "by the book"....the book would never change.

Super scientific is great and exactly what I want - I'm an engineer. Also, this is a brand new house so I can't refer to last year's bill. Thanks.

Originally posted by nsmith666
    There has to be a formula to estimate heating oil usage but I can't find it. Something containing degree days, square footage... Does anyone know how to estimate usage?
    Nate
    Are you contracting the fuel ahead to avoid the increase in price? If not, there is no way you can predict the weather; records of past mean temperature records-probably, predict average wind velocities - maybe, average sunny or cloudy days - maybe. From whatever documented information you can get from the weather bureau, or other sources, you still have to figure the Btuh demand for each 24-hour day!

Did you get a heat loss, and a blower door test for air infiltration, done? You would need that information to begin to estimate the average Btuh usage for each day, or week.

Heating oil on average delivers 140,000-Btuh per gallon.
    Have the oil pump pressure checked and if possible set at 100-psig.
    The actual oil delivery to the burner will depend on the GPH rating of the delivery nozzle @ 100-psig or a higher oil delivery pressure, you can get that information, from that specific oil burner's chart.

It might be fun for you but it will end-up being a ball-park estimate. Good luck. Darrell

Originally posted by nsmith666
    Super scientific is great and exactly what I want - I'm an engineer. Also, this is a brand new house so I can't refer to last year's bill. Thanks.