Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 32 of 32
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Tyvm orion the other thing is when i change #C05#xxxxxxxxxxxxxx 0 and 1 's with different combinations nothing changes same value 32767 coming from the different signed registers

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,657
    C05 is correct for the 16 bit signed numbers. These should come though directly into strategy, no hassle from there. The 32bit signed need to be pulled in via C10 and then messed with from there.

    If the 16bit values are not working, I would suspect something is wrong with the register number or other parts of the setup.

    Are any of the values working from the device?
    What’s the full setup string for these stores?
    Have you tired swapping MS/LS & LS/MS?

    I would recommend getting a RS485 converter for your laptop and use modbus poll or modscan to check that the registers contain what you expect prior to setting up the XNC. It will save a lot of time getting things working. If you can capture the traffic I can look at it and likely figure out where your problem is.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Its possible i have messed up with 32bit signed but i tried C10 MS/LS LS/MS both combinations same as C05#MS/LS or C05#LS/MS at C05#LS/MS all signed 16 bit registers give -128 as result.
    I will give you the document of this DSE PLC they have a special register calculation.i will give u the page number of that formula and will give you the page numbers where my signed 16bits and 32bits are.
    http://www.4shared.com/rar/VDyQ7Psk/S_b.html
    Register Calculation: Page 16 1st section
    formula: register_address=page_number*256+register_offset.

    E001#F03#A01557#N01#O012#C05#0000000010000000 (avarage power factor) tried MS/LS LS/MS also, Page: 6 register_offset: 21

    E001#F03#A01536#N01#O008#C05#0000000010000000 (total power)tried MS/LS LS/MS C09 function C10 too, Page: 6 Register_offset: 0
    E001#F03#A01295#N01#O099#C05#0000000010000000 Fuel Temp(degreees)
    signed 16 bit,tried C05#MS/LS LS/MS ,Page : 5 register_offset: 15

    For another electrical meter all signed 32bit here:
    Attached the .pdf file for PM710
    At bottom page 13 u will see an info(small puntos) about Float
    E003#F04#A01020#N01#O049#C04#LS/MS (frequency) tried MS/LS gives result 0,C10 MS/LS LS/MS gives result of 0 also
    E003#F04#A01012#N01#O063#C04#LS/MS (power factor) tried MS/LS gives result 0,C10 MS/LS LS/MS gives result of 0 also

    Ty for your time Orion, i really messed up in here
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    And yes at 1st device other values working ,just 1 unsigned i just have problem
    E001#F03#A01552#N01#O010#C10#MS/LS (VaR Reactive Power) Page : 6 Register_Offset:16

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,657
    Sorry time has been short at the moment. It may be the weekend before I can wrap my head fully around all this.

    Few notes I see on the surface.

    >formula: register_address=page_number*256+register_offset.

    This should be nothing more than some screwy way to figure out the register # you need to poll. Without the datasheet in front of me, I’m guessing. This is my suspicion of the root cause of your 16bit signed problems. I did not download the pdf yet as they required signing up. Can you email it? As I said with the correct register, these should pull right in without any hassle.

    >For another electrical meter all signed 32bit here:

    The driver supports 32bit IEEE floats, these should also be pull right in by the driver. Quick glance of the datasheet on the PM710 didn't mention that it’s using IEEE floats. The Modbus spec does not specify that floating point numbers use IEEE 754. It may be that the meter is using something else to encode these registers. Most devices I have worked with do, so this may or may not be a problem. A traffic capture would confirm this.

    There is C06 for “IEEE configuration. Used for EM/MPO and SIRIO meters. 4 byte format”. What the heck is going on there is beyond me. C04 conforms to IEEE 754 Floating point numbers, C06 maybe some off the wall format that these meters use.

    Again get Modbus poll and capture the traffic.

    1. You can verify the meter register has what you expect.
    2. Capture the raw traffic in hex and others can look it over.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Np mate,Emailed the documents for 1st and 2nd electrical meter,for 2nd meter i have an explanation in mail and used c06 as well.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event