Hi! I'm new to all of this, but I purchased a 14 year old house 1600 square feet with 12-14 foot ceilings throughout. I've lived here for many of those years before purchasing.

I'm in Las Vegas. The house has the original 3 ton package unit - brand unknown to me - but at 8 SEER. Electric for AC and gas for heating. Electric bills run $250 in summer per month.

One whole side of the house remains quite hot - so much we bought a window AC unit and a small heater for winter in those rooms.

Today a company with free estimates came out and said, "REPLACE." The unit works fine, actually, just horrifically inefficient for the house apparently. He wanted to sell me a 4 ton, 13 SEER Amana PGD.

He pushed hard for me to accept a new unit at a seemingly high price and said an additional $xxxx for additional ducts.

Nevada Power is offering $300 rebates with contractors as well.

My questions:
    1. How do I compare units (package gas/electric)?
    2. How do I find best value installation?
    3. We've lived many years just surviving with the rooms simply not cool/hot. They are the office and guest room, not exactly used alot but the office is used a few hours each day. Do I really need to swap out?

My email is in the profile - am open to suggestions or recommendations. Thanks in advance.

kepp searching for other opinions and then compare prices and the quality they will give you. Bargain a lil. If you do that you'll get a good price and u'll be satisfied...

There are two unrelated issues here.