need help choosing basic tools.

Hi,

My name is Brian and I have 25 years in the oil heat industry. I'm currently studying HVAC at our local community college. I am 2 semesters away from a certifiate and 5 semesters away from an associates degree. I also have my universal epa certificate.

I've been out of work since the beginning of April due to a bicycling accident. This Monday I'm going back and will be riding with the company's main AC tech. My main question to you guys is what are the basic tools I'll need to do service. I'm just looking for what I would need walking up to the job.

When I do oil service I carry a 5 gallon pail with a bucket boss drape and a ton of tools in one hand. I also carry a smaller pail that holds my push-pull pump, strainers, filters and oil bucket in the other hand. I don't think I'll need near this much for AC but I'm just starting.

I know that my 6in1 screwdriver opens up the compartment to the condenser. I have my gauges, a fieldpiece multmeter along with a clamp-on temperature probe and a gallo gun. I don't know what tools or equipment the company supplies. So what else do I need to carry and how do you guys like to carry your tools.

Thanks!

I carry a six way, sidecutters, a 6" Bahco adjustable wrench with the pipe wrench back, my meter with temp probe, a few wire nuts in my pocket, and a set of 5 jumper wires with clips and a t-stat screw driver when I start an unknown call.

That is usually enough to assess the issue.
    Then I return back to the van and get whatever part(s) or other tools needed.

Unless it is an oil call. Then I grab my entire oil box, as I have a separate set of tools all packed neatly into a metal three drawer tool box, with a few common parts, just for oil.

Hey Brian- I too am new to HVAC work and could benefit from this too. Here's what I carry so far:

Set of JB gauges with low-loss valves (or at least get low-loss fittings)
    UEI hvac meter with temp clamp (ideally your meter has capacitance too)