Page 1 of 24 1234567811 ... LastLast

2nd story not cooling off

I know this question has been asked many times, but my situation is slightly different so I thought I'd ask. I am moving into a 2-story duplex, but the only rooms upstairs is a bedroom, bathroom and walk-in closet. There is no attic. The room upstairs is an "A" frame so it's very tall. My roommate has moved in and says it's very hot up there. There's only 1 a/c unit and the thermostat is on the wall of the staircase so it's reading the upstairs temperature. Downstairs is nice and cool, but upstairs not so much. We are closing some of the vents downstairs to see if that helps. Any other thoughts? Thanks!

First of all, let me start by saying I am not an HVAC professional. I have been troubleshooting the same basic issue in my open foyer house though. I cut my HVAC energy usage by almost 30% and cut down my cycle time from 5 hours to reach a 75 degree set point down to under 2 hours. How do I know all the data, I just installed a whole home energy monitor system where I can see exactly what is going on including the cycle times etc. I would suggest to look at your return duct system first and don't concentrate so much on the vents. If you close too many vents off you will just increase the static pressure of the system and lower CFM considerably. The HVAC guys who designed my house were on drugs. Only 3 returns in the whole house. 2 main ones and one smaller return in the family room. The main return ducts are not even ducts, but are only 18x18 vents screwed in to cover a hole in the drywall. They used a free space in the center drywall studding as return duct. The problem is that the put both 18" main ducts (1st and 2nd floor) in series without sizing them appropriately to even out airflow. It seems the open space also went around an I-beam between floors, also considerably cutting down the open area to the upstairs return. The result was I had 90% of the air pulling in the 1st floor return, which was p