Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 32

Thread: Carrier Install

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Gaylord, Michigan
    Posts
    729
    The water heater vents into the original 5" Bvent.

    The thermostat is a TSTATCCCN2S01 2 Stage Heat/1 Cool Auto changeover, non programmable.

    The reason for the 1" filter is I used a prepackaged return drop. And it has a built in filter space. Kept the one that came with the furnace for future use.



  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NW Arkansas
    Posts
    1,288
    Originally posted by square2round
    Nice work.

    I'm not real big of the "print" on the foil tape. Not sure why they manufacture that style of tape. Is it any different than the plain silver foil tape?

    The printing on the tape is to show that the tape meets certain standards.

    I am a commercial tech. If an engineer is punching one of are jobs and he does not see the printing on the mastic/foil tape the installers would be changing it all out. That would upset the boss.

    BTW, nice install

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    chesapeake va.
    Posts
    2

    Question evap install

    hey dude you put your evap on top of your heat exchanger dont you worry about condensate rusting them? on upflow install, coil should be on return side or further down supply line away from heat exchanger but the work looks great

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Gaylord, Michigan
    Posts
    729
    How is condensate going to rust the heat exchanger?

    How is it going to get there in the first place if the drain pan is in place and not cracked?

    Thanks for the reposne though

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,708

    Re: evap install

    Originally posted by unlimited maint
    on upflow install, coil should be on return side or further down supply line away from heat exchanger



    say what???


    pretty sure a/c coil in return of gas furnace is in direct VIOLATION of national fuel gas code

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Looks really nice. Shows some pride.

    I would probably get out of the habbit of making that 45 at the return by the bottom. It actually makes for a restriction. If you dont cut the inside corner, the outside rounding or 45 is useless. You would be better off using a straight 90 and adding vanes.

  7. #20

    No Drier...

    Originally posted by Christheheatingdude
    First time using Carrier equipment. Happy with the way the a/c came out, but the furnace could have been better. But thought I would post anyway.

    Go ahead, flame away!!





    I don't see a filter drier installed?
    AllTemp Heating & Cooling

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    small island in the Pacific Ocean
    Posts
    558

    drier

    Alltemp stole my question. Install looks nice but where is liquid line drier.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Gaylord, Michigan
    Posts
    729
    It is a new install, new lineset, new coil, new everything...I do not see the need for a drier. I guess you guys do on all new installations. I don't.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    small island in the Pacific Ocean
    Posts
    558
    That looks like a YXA, all the ones we get come with a drier. Inside the unit comes a baggie with a drier and copper connector with a teflon seal that attaches it to the unit.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Originally posted by phosgene
    That looks like a YXA, all the ones we get come with a drier. Inside the unit comes a baggie with a drier and copper connector with a teflon seal that attaches it to the unit.
    No "pink" Puron sticker,not a YXA.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    phoenix az
    Posts
    429
    looks good but looks are not everything

    did you run nitrogen purge while brazing?

    with no filter dryer installed metering devices can get restricted.

    are the king valves fully open?

    not trying to put anyone down but i have had to much experience going back after installers and fixing what they caused to break.

    but it does look nice!!

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Gaylord, Michigan
    Posts
    729
    Yes used nitrogen, yes valves backseated. I am the installer and the service guy, believe me I do not want to have to go back!

    It is a TKB030. R22

    Thanks for all the comments guys!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event