Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking Fix For Oversized Units?

Hi all,

I am a newbie who has helped installers troubleshoot electrical problems for over 30 years. I have read the rules and hope I am compliant!

About 8 years a contractor installed a 3 ton 2 stage Armstrong furnace and matching ac unit, replacing a 2 1/2 unit from Janitrol. He apparently did not figure the new windows and added blown in attic insulation into the load calculations, and yep, I have cold clammy air, because the ac does not run long enough.

I have a 3" pvc pipe bringing in outside air for combustion. May I cap that (only in the summer) to lower my indoor humidity a little?

As I am a tech, I can wire the two speed fan motor to stay on low, but should I do this? Will it increase line pressures excessively?

I am very vigilant about routine procedures like cleaning the condensing coil and keeping clean filters installed. Because of numerous layoffs, installing a 2 1/2 condensing unit (if it would work) is no longer in the budget. I would appreciate some input and I assure you I do not sue people; I can't afford a lawyer anyway!

Easy fix: Install any digital thermostat which allows you to set the cycles per hour.

I have a 5 Ton system serving 1200 square feet in my condo. Yes, it's oversized. Right now the rH is 50% because the cycles run about 10 minutes. The CPH (Cycles Per Hour) is set to 1. It does cycle more than once per hour; CPH = 1 is apparently just an arbitrary calculation used in the algorithm. I use a Honeywell Pro4000 (THD4110D1007) Tstat, but many others have this feature.

I'm guessing your furnace is 2-stage, not a 2-stage A/C. I don't think Armstrong made a 2-stage A/C 8 years ago, but I could be wrong.

Red face Thanks-sound like an idea!

Funny how I completely missed the idea of using a thermostat. BUT, won't it just make the house colder before cycling off? I am married, and you know that THAT means, don't you?