Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 24 of 24
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    457

    Post

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=wild+tangent

    look over the listings, you can learn more about wild tangant, and how to remove it & registry entries.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    Error Has Disappeared

    I went into Spybot S&D and hit the Recovery Button. I did a scan. Basically everything is back where it was before I did the spyware scan. I restarted the computer and now the error does not appear. Go figure.

    So the obvious question does Wild Tangent contain syware?

    Is this all part of the HP headgame?

    I think Otto was right. Im gonna go buy a friggin furnace.
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  3. #16
    HP is there any worst brand on the market?

    HP SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407

    Easy Fix

    Aquire a ten pond hammer, swing violently at computer, toss pieces into trash can, go purchase a Dell. HP's suck big time. Bought a HP laptop and returned it two weeks later, bought the Dell with all the same setups and was cheaper and half the weight. Have not had any problems with it yet, besides the user errors.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    One Final Thought

    When I scan with Spybot S&D one of the categories that shows up is something called BackWeb lites.

    If I fix and delete that category, then I start getting the aforementioned Error Message.

    There are 59 entries listed under this category.

    Should I copy and paste one entry so someone can tell me what this BackWeb thing is?
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407
    Sounds like you are infected with a spyware program that can't be cleared with what yu are using. I would download the latest version of Norton or Macafree and try deleting the spyware that way. If you use AOL their spyware/virus protection works pretty good. Once you download these programs and run them once, shut down the computer and restart and then run it a 2nd time. Sometimes they get passed up the 1st time.
    Hope this helps.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    7,977
    Originally posted by sodadude

    RUNNER ERROR
    I think that means you didn't tie your shoes right or something.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407
    Originally posted by jultzya
    HP is there any worst brand on the market?

    HP SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Yea, Gateway

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    http://www.iamnotageek.com/a/359-p1.php

    BackWeb could be HP's version of automatic update.
    Kodak does the same thing.

    Start>Run>msconfig.exe will let you selectively turn off items in your start menu.

    Editing the registry is not for the casual computer user.

    Be sure you save a copy before making changes.


  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    I think you are correct because

    Originally posted by bwal2
    http://www.iamnotageek.com/a/359-p1.php

    BackWeb could be HP's version of automatic update.
    Kodak does the same thing.


    One of the entries does have the word Kodak in it.
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    Kodak likes to take over your computer with backweb, so does HP.
    Wild Tangent is a spyware-related item, and usually gets loaded when somebody tries to play "free" games on the internet.

    At one time, I was very versed in what needs to run, but haven't bothered to learn XP.
    I still use Win98 at home & Win2K at work.

    The people at http://www.answersthatwork.com maintain a task list.

    "BackWeb started life as push technology software which enabled you to subscribe to various information channels of your choice so that your selected information channels would pop up on your screen with the latest world news, entertainment news, etc…, whatever you might have chosen You can configure the original BackWeb to download the news for later viewing, to display the news as desktop background, ticker, or popup window.

    This did not take off as well as expected and, crucially, it was also not paying for itself. As a result BackWeb quickly went into other markets, two of them significant ones. (1) Advertising adware where websites, ISPs, or software manufacturers include BackWeb on their site, in their ISP software, or in their software and, whenever you connect to the Internet, BackWeb also connects to retrieve advertisements which are then displayed on your screen or in your browser. (2) BackWeb is also routinely installed on new PCs by specific computer manufacturers with the aim being that BackWeb will automatically check for vital updates to the PC’s setup whenever the end-user connects to the web. Such manufacturers include Compaq, Hewlett-Packard, LogiTech, Kodak, although some or all of these may have stopped this practice at the time of writing of this entry (April 2002).

    Recommendation :
    Unless you are using BackWeb for news content, we strongly recommend de-installing it. It is often a serious resource hog, in most cases it is also advertising adware, it slows down your Internet connection, unacceptably if you connect by modem, and it has the potential for sending out information from your PC. De-install via the "Add/Remove Program" icon in the Control Panel."







Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event