Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065
    I have a HP Pavillion with Windows XP.

    Everytime I turn on the computer, when I get to the desktop, I get the following message.

    RUNNER ERROR

    Runner file name(updates from HP.exe) lacks a '_'(the app ID separator)

    I tried calling HP this morning and the language barrier was real tough.

    The tech said it was an application error, corrupt files, or possible virus, at least I think that is what he said.

    He said he would send me to a senior tech, but I would have to pay for the service. I declined for now.

    Any ideas whatsoever would be greatly appreciated.
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,180
    Try using System Restore and go back to a checkpoint before this problem started.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    Try this site:

    HP site
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago, N/W burbs
    Posts
    8,004
    You need a new furnace......
    R2B4BTU

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    5,587
    Try this. it worked wonders on my old Dell with XP.

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_description/0,fid,22262,00.asp

  6. #6
    Do you mean run time error ?

    At start-up there are parameters to choose which programs you want to start and which ones you don't. The HP site may be able to tell you how to manipulate it or go to Microsoft more than likely they will have a better understanding of it.

    I do think you have a corrupt file in a program that is trying to start on startup.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    Nope

    Originally posted by swampfox
    Try using System Restore and go back to a checkpoint before this problem started.
    No go, but thanks anyways,.
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    Well

    Originally posted by karsthuntr
    Try this site:

    HP site
    This seemed like it was going to work, but Wild Tangent is not in my Add/Remove programs.

    I was having the same problem as that guy old pops.

    Still am. It seemed to happen after running Adaware and Wild Tangent was one of the things I checked, deleted and I think I did something called immunize, although that might be on Spybot.

    So the little bastard Wild Tangent is hiding somewhere and he doesnt want to come out and play or get his ass kicked.

    I lose again, sigh...................
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,736
    system full of noncomputables recover and recharge.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    Spybot S&D

    I tried to recover the Wild Tangent file and was successful but still get the application error.

    There are two other items in there as well, Back Web or something like that.

    Perhaps I should recover them as well and see if error goes away.

    What do you mean by recover and recharge?
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,157
    Is this a DIY project? (site rules)....just kidding...

    sodadue You may find that you will have to reformat the hard drive in order to get Wild Tangent out of your comp

    do a google search for wild tangent removal and see what you can find. I had it once and if I remember correctly you have to go into the regestery and change back everything manually that was installed and leaving any of it in the regestery will trigger it to reinstall itself all over again

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,460
    Got to love it. I always hated how computers like HP come with a bunch of junk programs running that you don't need and give you THEIR install disk's, etc.

    I'd rip that **** out of family members computers and install the plain XP version's, etc WITHOUT the dozen other HP programs running in the back ground.


    I also always remove extra start up programs that I don't need running every time the computer starts.

    So here's my tip of the day if running XP.

    Go to the start icon, click "run" and type in "msconfig"
    It will open the System Configuration Utility. Then click on the "start up" tab and see what has been inserted to start up when your computer boots. I do this often after a new program installs. Many programs set themselves up to run some loader each time your computer starts. You don't need most of it to be running. Just un check the boxes in that configuration. You may find a dozen programs you don't need to have running from start up. Your computer will be quicker with the freed up RAM.

    Just keep what you WANT or NEED. Like virus scanners. Messenger, windows patches, etc.


    Good luck.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Stroudsburg, PA
    Posts
    13,215
    Originally posted by otto
    You need a new furnace......
    WHy? Just because his superheat is too high???

    You guys get carried away on all this replacement work.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event