Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    3
    Post Likes

    ge condensing unit tons?

    i have an old ge condensing unit model number BGTA736B1B
    and i need to know what size it is so i can replace it with the same size unit there is a dead short in the compressor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,282
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckilla View Post
    i have an old ge condensing unit model number BGTA736B1B
    and i need to know what size it is so i can replace it with the same size unit there is a dead short in the compressor
    3 ton, but you're better off having a load calc done as bigger was better back then

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    3
    Post Likes
    if the a coil is for a 3 ton i cant go smaller though right? i have to go the same or bigger i thought

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,282
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckilla View Post
    if the a coil is for a 3 ton i cant go smaller though right? i have to go the same or bigger i thought
    Bigger is not Better....

    An air conditioner is more or less a giant dehumidifier and without the run time it will feel like a cool tropical rain forest, cool eh?

    Ya need to contact a professional or two or three and get some estimates on replacing, typically these are free estimates

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Athens GA
    Posts
    1,234
    Post Likes
    You're not seriously thinking of reusing the same coil????Do not even in jest continue with that line of thinking.
    Get a whole new system where everything is matched to each other.
    Now lets get back to the original suggestion.
    You have no idea if your house needs a 3ton a 2.5 ton or a 2ton.
    You know if you have the wrong size unit it costs a bit extra each time it comes on.Now thionk of the thousands of times a unit comes on durning its lifetime.Are you that rich????? Have a load calc done and know what you need.
    By the way you will also need a new line set.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,966
    Post Likes
    Sounds like they are thinking of using the same coil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    69,445
    Post Likes
    Why would you want to use a 6 SEER coil on a 13 SEER condenser.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,640
    Post Likes
    you really want someone to check the capacity of that 036

    those compressors "never fell short" on rated capacity
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event