Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    ge condensing unit tons?

    i have an old ge condensing unit model number BGTA736B1B
    and i need to know what size it is so i can replace it with the same size unit there is a dead short in the compressor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckilla View Post
    i have an old ge condensing unit model number BGTA736B1B
    and i need to know what size it is so i can replace it with the same size unit there is a dead short in the compressor
    3 ton, but you're better off having a load calc done as bigger was better back then

  3. #3
    if the a coil is for a 3 ton i cant go smaller though right? i have to go the same or bigger i thought

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckilla View Post
    if the a coil is for a 3 ton i cant go smaller though right? i have to go the same or bigger i thought
    Bigger is not Better....

    An air conditioner is more or less a giant dehumidifier and without the run time it will feel like a cool tropical rain forest, cool eh?

    Ya need to contact a professional or two or three and get some estimates on replacing, typically these are free estimates

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Athens GA
    Posts
    1,234
    You're not seriously thinking of reusing the same coil????Do not even in jest continue with that line of thinking.
    Get a whole new system where everything is matched to each other.
    Now lets get back to the original suggestion.
    You have no idea if your house needs a 3ton a 2.5 ton or a 2ton.
    You know if you have the wrong size unit it costs a bit extra each time it comes on.Now thionk of the thousands of times a unit comes on durning its lifetime.Are you that rich????? Have a load calc done and know what you need.
    By the way you will also need a new line set.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,156
    Sounds like they are thinking of using the same coil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,051
    Why would you want to use a 6 SEER coil on a 13 SEER condenser.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    you really want someone to check the capacity of that 036

    those compressors "never fell short" on rated capacity
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event