Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    39 Degrees Subcool

    Thankyou to those who responded to my 39 degree subcool issue.

    At a whim I stuck my meter on my 3 - 10KW heat strips and they were all
    lit up - quite ridiculous because in the winter I disconnected my emergency
    heat wire on the Tstat because a 2 degree call for heat would instantly
    activate the heat pump and heat strips.

    Subcool is down to 17 degrees.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,520
    You're kinda scaring me. Sounds like you have enough of a clue to hurt yourself. The thermostat isn't the only thing in heat strips. Call somebody out to help you before you get hurt.
    I like DIY'ers. They pay better to fix.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,411
    Quote Originally Posted by bmathews View Post
    You're kinda scaring me. Sounds like you have enough of a clue to hurt yourself. The thermostat isn't the only thing in heat strips. Call somebody out to help you before you get hurt.
    He's an engineer.

    He was just gloating.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,520
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    He's an engineer.

    He was just gloating.
    Gloating about what? Not having a clue?
    I like DIY'ers. They pay better to fix.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,411

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    107
    I fail to see how heat strips could affect subcooling...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by jgvansickle View Post
    At a whim I stuck my meter on my 3 - 10KW heat strips and they were all
    lit up - quite ridiculous because in the winter I disconnected my emergency
    heat wire on the Tstat because a 2 degree call for heat would instantly
    activate the heat pump and heat strips.
    I am not sure you understand the interpretation of this beyond the scope of your own thoughts, let me help.

    This winter I fooled about with my own unit having next to no idea what I was doing. The unit was doing something I did not think it should so without any regard for design or knowledge of what it should be doing, I disconnected some wires and it stopped doing what I did not think it should be doing. This summer when I kicked it into cooling mode, it went really wild, I forgot that I for no sound reason what so ever fooled with it last fall and I typed out a bail out posting here to see if anyone would guess what I did to it last year. After spending several hours outside trying to do math and figure out why it was operating so far outside parameters I have read on the internet, I came back in only to be disappointed no one told me what I did and I was told not to ask.

    Due to my frustrations with getting little to no assistance I went to the basement and opened up the air handler and low and behold I remembered the wires I fooled with last year. I put them back where I think they came from and it looks good per the wiring diagram, but wow, why don't they make those things easier to read. I am gonna jump back on the internet and tell them boys that at least tried to help me before the meanies shut them down thanks and let em know I got er done!

    New thought: Wow that idontgetit guy is a blankity blank.

    idontgetit's thought, see ya again in the fall when yer broke unit needs to be disconnected again or next spring because you remember in the fall but forget about the cooling side bla bla bla. FYI give-o-darn meter remains on -0-


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event